June 10


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Eilat
June 10th 2009
Published: June 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I got up late today, did some laundry, and basically just chilled out until about one. I guess you could say that I am trying to conserve energy for tonight. At about one thirty I went to the reef beach with Ruth, Rafi, and David, and we rented some snorkel gear and took turns snorkeling over the reefs that are right at the shore line. They are incredible! I saw yellow coral masses that probably weighed twice my weight. They looked like big brains. I also saw teeny purple coral mounds, black urchins with spikes at least a foot long. You probably think that I am exaggerating, but I swear, they were HUGE! And there were fishes all over the place. I swam through schools of them and they just parted around me. It was soooo cool. Ruth and I split some of the best calamari I've ever had, if not the best, and then we returned to the hostel to rest up and pack before heading out for our overnight hike. We leave our bags here, set out at ten, we should be at the base of Sinai at about one or two in the morning and then we start hiking, so that we can be at the top before sunrise to watch the sun come up. And also so that we don't have to hike in the sun light, which we learned at Masada is really not a good idea. Only four more days here! I have a really hard time believing how fast time has flown! Three weeks until I leave for Peru! Good Lord...

Advertisement



11th June 2009

petra
take me to petra. i just saw lawrence of arabia and am imagining you in accaba. that's where he went. by the sea. thoughts with you, love bets
12th June 2009

COOL!
Claren sounds like your having a wonderful time, night-hikes and all!!!!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb