Arrival in Israel


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Eilat
February 13th 2007
Published: February 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Shalom! This is Nicola reporting live from Israel LOL I try to make use as good as possible of the times I spend on transportation for catching up with my travel diary. And here I am travelling on a bus somewhere between Eilat and Jerusalem….
Yesterday the weather was beautiful on my arrival in Dahab. Sun plus around 25 degrees. The sea was a little cold but with a slightly strong will its even possible to swim in the red sea. Dahab hasn’t changed that much since I went there last time in August 2005 besides a few new buildings and a street built out into a pedestrian walk. It was so lovely to see these nice people again I met in 2005. My friend was so nice and let me stay in his apartment while he stayed at another friends place. In the evening we met up with some others and had a really good time.


Hi again! This time I’m writing in my bed (it will be my bed for 2 nights or 3) before sleeping. The trip was really long. Once I arrived at the taba border crossing I felt chills going down my spine when only seeing the border building as I connect a really emotional experience with it… So I entered it AND GUESS WHO I SAW!!! YES!! My best friend, the border manager. I couldn’t help it but giving him a grumpy look. Another guy asked me into the office to hand in my detail card I received at the border entrance. So for a moment the border manager and me looked at each other before I said “I know you”. He asked me whether I intend to return to Egypt via this border and reminded me of the need to have a multiple entry visa. Without a comment I showed him my visa from the Frankfurt Egyptian consulate. He looked at it and said: “sorry this is no multiple entry visa” I felt that he was trying to tease me but still got angry by just looking at him. Then he continued: “this is no multiple but a several entry visa” LOL I grabbed my passport and after a short good bye I left :D



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 21; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb