I am still alive...


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Be'er Sheva
July 24th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Thanks for all the concern and the prayers from home, y’all - they mean the world to me! I’m staring straight in the face of the final countdown for summer 2006, Be’er Sheva edition. While now I have effectively dealt with the waves of depression that come when a change is on the horizon, I’m still not looking forward to the two days it will take me to get back to Arkansas. Bleh. Regardless, I had better begin gearing up for it because frankly, there is no stopping it. Now how in the hell am I supposed to pack all this shit?

And now what you’ve all been waiting for, more humorous observations of the Holy Land:

Milk in a Bag - okay folks, the carton is a thing of the past. Here in Israel, you buy your milk in floppy plastic sacks. Whether you only want an individual serving or something that will last you a week (not so in our apartment with as much flippin’ coffee as we all drink), buying the bag is the only way to go. I didn’t give in at first, but I was soon converted from my evil American ways. I really had a hard time coping with these new kitchen concepts, and I still snicker when I use our kitchen sink squee-gee.

Red Bull and Vodka - Israelis drink this favorite cocktail like there is NO tomorrow. My crew of Be’er Sheva friends all work at Art Café, and the one thing they serve over and over again is red bull and vodka. Gag me. I tell Yogev to surprise me with a creative drink, but I also warn him that if it involves red bull and vodka, I will kill him. Hopefully, this isn’t a trend that is making its way west because by the time it gets to Arkansas, I’ll finally be the ripe old age of 21. Just say NO people!

Crocs - Yes, these repulsive shoes have found their way into the hearts of the entire Israeli population. And they seem to go with any outfit imaginable. Pant suit? Why not a brown pair of crocs? Sporty? My green crocs will be great. Even the most fashionable people hail by these oh-so-comfortable but highly unattractive shoes. Even the smallest Israeli child is running around in blue, pink, orange, red, yellow, black, or purple crocs. Maybe this is happening simultaneously in America, but I don't think it's quite on the scale here. I think Israelis live by the motto, "Go big or go home." Personally, my Birkenstocks and Tevas are suiting me just fine.

Turn-Abouts - There are no 4-way stops to be found in this country. Instead, you encounter many large circular intersections that you drive around to make your desired turn. I have a theory about this (don't I have a theory about everything???). Israelis are some of the most impatient people in the world, and frankly, I think making a complete stop would not only drive them insane, but would be an impossible regulation to inforce. So, they keep the motion going and eliminate the need to stop. Perhaps a good idea, but oh so Israeli!

And that's what I know. For now, I must finish up my work and start preparing for home. I miss everyone and I love you all so so much. Have a great week!


Advertisement



6th August 2006

I can't wait!
I can't wait to see you!! You just don't know how much I miss you, hurry home sweetie! I Love Ya OXOXOX
9th November 2006

Hello
I just sighned up here and was looking around when I read your blog about matteo and francesca. I was in their studio this last year and will get to see them in the spring semester. I was great reading your entries.

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb