So, You Live in Be’er Sheva…


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Be'er Sheva
June 28th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Be'er Sheva BuddiesBe'er Sheva BuddiesBe'er Sheva Buddies

At Naor's going away party - he's leaving to South America for a year! These people are like family, and they make this town what it is. We have Naor, me, Dvora, and Gil.
After people find this out, they normally snicker and say something about it being the “Capital of the Negev.” I’m finding that it is really not so bad. How about some observations of this place that I currently call home?

A town of about 200,000 people, it is the biggest city in the desert region of Israel. I know, you must be thinking that ALL of Israel is a desert, but my friend, this is not the case (HA only about 2/3 is desert). The landscape can vary from hot, sandy with the occasional camel to lush, green and forest-y to the cool breeze and warm sun of a coastline. Believe it or not, there is even a ski resort in the extreme north, which only operates during the winter months (which, in itself, is amazing seeing as how the last time I was here in the “dead of winter,” I was in a bikini on the beach). Gaza is a mere 40km to the west of Be'er Sheva, and it takes an hour and a half by bus to get to the beach. So, what the hell is there in Be’er Sheva?

We proudly support 3 malls, of
Tal and AmirTal and AmirTal and Amir

An old and a new shaliach! Amir is Tal's replacement in Arkansas, but he will never truly take his place!
which 2.5 are not worth going to. Abraham’s well is somewhere nearby, drawing in lots of tour buses, as well as the Air Force Museum (and we all know how much ass Israel’s Air Force can kick!). A sizeable Orthodox Jewish population lives (peacefully, I might add) alongside a large Muslim population. You can also find a large amount of Russians here, but I’m told this is pretty much the case everywhere in Israel nowadays.

I live in an absorption center for volunteers, like myself (although I only know of two of us - me and my American roommate), and students, mainly from the new immigrant populations of the former Soviet Union and Ethiopia. This is located across the street from a British military cemetery - my boss pointed out to me that I at least have quiet neighbors. It’s a little odd to walk to the bus stop and see a yard-full of crosses everyday. There are Christians in Israel, but not so many here in Be’er Sheva. Hey, the desert's not for everyone.

Something else pretty cool is that there is a Bedouin market held in the city every Thursday. I haven’t been yet, but tomorrow
The New RoomThe New RoomThe New Room

Life can seem so much more interesting with a roommate...we're making our room spectacular! Next project...the balcony...
is the day! I have heard that for as far as you can see, Bedouins spot the landscape, ready and willing to give you the best deal of your life. We’re talking hookahs for $5! My souvenir-shopping prayers have been answered! My poor, poor bank account...

And what about all these rumors of Be’er Sheva? Yes, it is a quiet town, and yes, it resembles the solitude of Arkansas. However, it does house the best university in Israel, Ben Gurion University of the Negev (the school that has my name written on an admissions ticket already…at least in my dreams). It is calm. The people here don’t speak much English. I suppose this is good for me because I will have to learn Hebrew faster - problem being, a lot of them are deathly afraid to speak what little they know, so making friends can be a bit challenging (I feel like I am currently throwing myself at this waiter at my favorite café in order to have a friend, which I basically am - a girl’s gotta do…). And something else this town has, my place of employment, and my saving grace in this rough and foreign land.
A Reason to StayA Reason to StayA Reason to Stay

These are some of the beautiful women I work with - Michal and Liza. They're my family here!!! I guess it's also worth noting that this is taken in MASLAN, the center where I work.
I’m coming back next summer for the sole purpose of working at MASLAN again. Hahaha, they’ve got me hooked!

So, they say that if you’re not careful, Bedouins will kidnap you and make you their baby-making slave. There are daily rumors of possible attacks to this rural metropolis. They say drinking the water will make you crazy. People think that this town is much worse than its smaller Negev counterparts. But you know what? I’m starting to love it here, eccentricities and all. It's my little piece of Arkansas - read: home - here in my favorite place in the world!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

We're Totally TwinsWe're Totally Twins
We're Totally Twins

My boss, my long lost sister, my partner-in-crime here in Be'er Sheva, Anat!!
When Your Boss Isn't Looking...When Your Boss Isn't Looking...
When Your Boss Isn't Looking...

Aren't we supposed to be fighting to PREVENT violence??
Our Daily RitualOur Daily Ritual
Our Daily Ritual

Everyday we both look nice, we have to take a picture. More of MASLAN in the background, too, for what it's worth.
Playing in the SandPlaying in the Sand
Playing in the Sand

"Shalom" from Israel! On the beach in Ashkelon last week.
All I NeedAll I Need
All I Need

...beer, my cell, a pen, and my journal. This was one of the most relaxing days ever on the beach all alone.
My RoomiesMy Roomies
My Roomies

Eleanor and Julia, from Russia. They put life and laughter into our apartment every day!


29th June 2006

hair
hey, your hair is a different color. i approve.
6th July 2006

Hair
Have your hairdresser friend in Jerusalem cut and style that mop before you come home. It's a chance you don't want to miss. 8-)

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb