The Anceint City of Mamshit


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Be'er Sheva
February 21st 2011
Published: February 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we went to a place called Mamshit. It was very barren because it was a desert. We saw the remains of an ancient church with its original floor. We also saw a mansion from the same time period. It was very windy there because we were on top of a mountain. There were old stables, ancient channels and wells. You could actually go into the houses of people from the Iron Age up to the Byzantine Era. There are “Camel Crossing” signs on the road here. It is really funny looking.
I really miss you all and appreciate your comments. I'll try to respond to as many questions as I can. To Elijah - I like the ALEKS math program but it can be frustrating. To Jillian – Luckily, I do not have to were a head scarf - only some religious people wear head scarfs or some other people wear them to keep cool in the hot sun I had jet lag for a long time, but I think I am finally used to the time change.
Many of the cats are feral and I wish I could take one home, but I can't. A lot of the people here do not speak fluent English but know enough to communicate. The weather here is really odd. It is sunny but there are sand storms. The people in Israel really like American food...so there is a lot of it here. The main foods people eat here, though, seem to be falafel, rice, lentils, dates, olives, hummus, and kabobs.
I made a few friends who speak English, but I really miss you guys and Maine! Daylight is the same here as in Maine. The most different thing about Israel is that I always see soldiers everywhere holding machine guns. It is a little scary, but we had to get used to it. The people here are very nice and have many religions and cultures just like in America.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb