The Holy land.


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
September 8th 2017
Saved: March 9th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Of all the international trips that I have made, none rises to the level of significance for me personally than does the one to the Holy land, especially Jerusalem. Jeanette and I have always wished for the right opportunity to come along and now the moment has arrived and we will spend three months there soon, God be willing.

I recognize that this area of the world is arguably the most divisive, emotionally charged, yet vitally important real estate in the world. I choose not to venture down the tempting lane of international politics as there is no possible opinion that I could express, one way or another, that would meet with universal acceptance from my readers. I therefore prefer to adhere to my main reason for visiting and that is to walk some of the paths and absorb a taste of what my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ did two thousand years ago and to share it with others through this medium.

Besides our social commitments to the convent that will host us for three months, I know that our in-house Executive Travel Consultant, Jeanette, has in store, well researched objectives for our activity encompassing sightseeing, culture, cuisine and getting to know some of the people who are drawn to that area from around the world, as well as those who call it home.

Choosing El Al Airlines to fly us from Canada to Israel was a “no-brainer” for us, despite a higher cost, and I anticipate that when we eventually land at Tel Aviv, it will be the beginning of an adventure like no other. We will be staying on the Via Dolorosa, the path believed to have been taken by the condemned Christ on His way to the cross and just a five-minute walk to the sacred Temple Mount.

I hope that you will come along with us for what could be for me, from October to December next, a life-impacting immersion into, not just history, but Biblical import. I am still unsure what approach I will take in creating my blogs of this special experience but this I do know - it is likely going to be a challenge to convey the inner emotions I am certain to encounter there.

Note: Please take a look at the three blogs that follow as well as the one on Petra, Jordan.

COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

10th September 2017

Following you
I will definitely be following you on this journey, Roger and Jeaneatte!
11th September 2017

the holy land
You and Jeanette are going straight to heaven for doing this :)
11th September 2017

LOVE LOVE LOVE YOUR BLOG
Thank you so much from sharing!!!
25th September 2017

Jerusalem - the Golden City
When you gothere, you will want to go back. The bible will come alive when you read it having been and seen where Jesus was. It will draw you closer to Him. I enjoyed what I saw and I know that you will too. Can't wait to read your blog
15th October 2017

Just a note...
Hi Roger and Jeanette, hope you are doing good, it was a pleasure to meet you as well the incredible staff at Ecco Homo. We came back safe (me and Claudia) but very tired from the jet leg, miss a lot being in Israel, defiantly is the best place on earth. Shalom Shalom enjoy your staying.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb