Old City


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
December 17th 2014
Published: December 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We began the day with a trek down Via Dolorosa, making our way to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. There lies Golgotha - better known to Christians as the rock upon which they crucified Christ. From there we made our way to the Western Wall. Of all the holy places we visited today, this one inexplicably touched me the most. I don't know if it was the hauntingly beautiful singing of the Jewish men, or being surrounded by crying, praying, devout women, or seeing all the handwritten prayers in all the cracks. I myself was moved to tears. The wall is what's left of two destroyed temples. The other side lies Temaple Mount. It is here that they believe God took the clay to create Adam. It is here that they believe Abraham was prepared to sacrifice Isaac. They say the "Divine Presence has never left the Western Wall". Perhaps that is what I felt there.

From there we took the "scenic route" to the Temple Mount. Passports were shown and bags were thoroughly checked. The Torah forbids Jews from entering the area and the Muslims run things around there as I soon found out. On entering the area, I was quickly approached by a power-tripping Arab guard and told to cover my "shoulders" or I'd be fined. I was wearing a large trench coat at the time and the only skin visible on me was my neck. Still, I zipped up my coat anyway cuz that dude freaked me out. I must say, for all the trouble, the Temple Mount was the least impressive place we visited today.

Following the Temple Mount, we made our way back to the hotel to recharge and grab some coffee. It was at our hotel cafe that I discovred Arab coffee. It's thick, strong and aromatic. Maybe even spicy. It gave me the fuel needed to climb up the Mount of Olives. The best view of Jerusalem is at the top. I could see now why He would choose to go there for prayer and reflection. The Garden of Gethsamane lies at the foot of the Mount of Olives and was our first stop on the way up.

We wrapped up the day with a couple of kebabs wrapped in "shrak". This is pretty much just a middle eastern version of roti.

Tomorrow we visit "ground zero".

GolgothaGolgothaGolgotha

Entrance to Golgotha


Shalom


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Western WallWestern Wall
Western Wall

The women's side
The Squirrels of Jerusalem The Squirrels of Jerusalem
The Squirrels of Jerusalem

Don't tell Rembrandt
Damascus GateDamascus Gate
Damascus Gate

One of several entrances to the old city
Outside Mary's TombOutside Mary's Tomb
Outside Mary's Tomb

Be sure to leave your hand guns and megaphones at the door


18th December 2014

Happy Birthday!
Happy Belated birthday Amanda, Mom Dad and I love you very much and wish u a fun and safe journey, auntie D and the family wish u happy birthday as well hope u guys are having a good time the pics look great u did Good job with the blog, give Rembrandt a hug for me.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb