Enjoying the Sinai and on to Israel


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
February 23rd 2010
Published: February 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bedouins on their wayBedouins on their wayBedouins on their way

They just passed me while I was walking towards the monastery

Desert, desert, desert…


So from Cairo I went to Saint Catherine in the Sinai desert. It was a long ride, but the scenery was very nice. In the bus I sat next to a woman who had been to Saint Catherine many times and she new a nice place to stay. It was perfect, really a nice place where I had my own room and I met very interesting people. Because it is a sort of pilgramige destination it attract a lot of different (or maybe spiritual) people. I went the next day to Saint Catherine Monastery. It is the oldest existing monastary on the foot of mount Sinai where Moses received the ten commandments. In the monastary I saw the burning bush that spontaniously cought fire according to the Bible. When I saw it I thought of experiencing the strength of this bush. Still growing and for such a long time already. Very special. Unfortunately it is not possible to see every corner of the monastery because it is still being used. But it was definitely worth visiting. Afterwards I went to a visitors centre with lots of information about the area and the Bedoein people who life there. I noticed the culture is so different from the other part of Egypt where I had been before. In general Egyptian people are really friendly, but the Bedoeins are even more friendly. They have this calm mentality and can have this charismatic look, but still in a soft and gentile way.

After I stayed two days in Saint Catherine I went to Dahab. That is a bit further south in the Sinai. It is near the sea and from there you can see Saudi Arabia. The distance is not so far. But according to my guidebook they won’t be smiling if you swim to the other side (like a Japanese tourist did). In Dahab I first had to recover two days from a bad stomach and later just relaxed at the place. It was nice to reflect about travelling and just walk along the sea or just have a coffee and read a bit or stare over the ocean. I think I needed this at that moment. When I was finished relaxing I thought I had seen everything I wanted to see in Egypt and that it was time to move on to the next country.

On

Prayers at the western wall in JeruzalemPrayers at the western wall in JeruzalemPrayers at the western wall in Jeruzalem

Just nice to walk around this area and watch people.
to Jeruzalem
So I took the bus to the border with Israel. From there a taxi to Eilat and there I had to catch a bus to Jeruzalem. This town has been for such a long time on my travelling list. Like that I have always wanted to see the pyramids in Egypt, I also wanted to visit Jeruzalem. And now I have done both. I can’t describe the feeling it gives. ‘Some things can’t be described by words nor seen with the eyes, but are feld in the heart’. So true this time. In the bus to Jeruzalem I sat next to a woman who lived in Jeruzalem. She told me many things about the city and the life there. Eventually she was so kind to join me to my hotel. I really apreciated her helpfullnes because it was already dark and otherwise it would have took my ages to find it.

The next day I went for a walk around the old city. I just looked around me and saw so many different people. All with there own religion and it seems like they don’t mingle with eachother. I was wondering: if you all believe in God,
View over the cityView over the cityView over the city

You can see the dome of the rock on the left, Covered by gold financed by the king of Jordan in 1998.
why are you actiing like this? It looks like the more people are into their own religion the less they are open for others opinions or believes. Because they all think they have the truth. That is why I found Jerusalem an exhausting city. But it is nice to experience. I went to the ‘western wall’ and saw the Al Aqsa Mosque and the temple of the rock (I still hear the guard saying: you are not a Muslim!!!! So not allowed!!!! And that even before I said anything) But well, that is the Israeli culture I noticed. If you are Muslim, Jew or Christian. The people can be very rude in this country. But I was already warned by people I met previously during my travels. But not everybody is like that ofcourse. I have met many friendly people. After that I went to the Mount of Olives where I had a beautiful view over the city. And I went to Mary’s tomb. They said she was born and buried here.

In Jeruzalem I also went to the place where Jezus was held in captivity and where he walked with the cross. They even could point out where
Old JaffaOld JaffaOld Jaffa

Old Jaffa is now part of Tel Aviv. It is the old historical city.
he was fallen while carrying the cross. And I saw a place where Pontius Pilatus told his verdict. All very impressive to see. There was a huge church which I visited and you could still see the Roman influences. So big and with so many pillars and spaces. Now I realise I have some homework to do, because I want to know more about these places. But that is with more places I visited. Sometimes they raise more questions then they answer. Which is fine by the way. Eventually I stayed three dayes in Jerusalem before I had enough of it.

I also went for a day to Bethlehem. I took a local bus to the check point, because it is on the Palestinian side. There I had to get to the other side of the massive eight meter high wall. Eventually when I got through security I took a taxi to the Church of the Nativity. They say Jesus was born at this location. It was nice to walk around that church. Later I went for a walk around the town. It is a bit strange to be there. Afterwards I took a taxi back to the checkpoint and went back to Jeruzalem.

Feel free in Tel Aviv


So I went to Tel Aviv. What a relieve to be in this city. People are very creative and open minded. There I realised that it is such a privilage to be able to be free to expres yourself. Although some people push it maybe to far. But I feld so much more joy in this place than in Jeruzalem. Almost every day I went to the beach for a swim and to read. And I tried to discover many areas and neighbourhoods. One day I met a guy from England and one from Poland. Together we made a long walk through the city. There are so many things to see and I really liked it. So I stayed for more than four dayes. The last two days I stayed in Old Jaffa. It has a rich history and it is nice to walk around there. Every day there is a big flea market with many things people try to sell. It is funny to see.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb