Wow


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
June 24th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Shalom!

So much has happened here in the past week or so its hard to remember it all. I haven't been able to find the time or the internet connection to sit down and write so here's a short blurb.

I'm currently in Jerusalem with a few days left. I know 7 letters of the Hebrew Aleph Bet and about 5 words/phrases.

I have been rapelling off a cliff in the Negev Desert. I've seen the Arab controlled Jericho from a mountain in the Judean Desert. I've been to Tel Aviv, shopped in Shuks, bartered with crazy shop owners, been asked what language I was speaking (It's hard to imagine someone not recognizing English, but alas, my Americanized self can't believe it!), made friends with some nice Jews, learned more about my Jewishness, fallen in love with Jerusalem...there's more. I just thought it smart to put a period in there and help both you and I organize my experiences! I've been to the Western Wall, gotten scared when my friends went to the temple mount in kippas and tzitzis. That's controlled by Arabs. They could have been killed! Sheesh. Silly boys. I've learned a lot of history about the Holy Land in general. Places important to Jewish history but also Christian history. I haven't been to the Christian quarter yet but I want to go badly.

This whole trip really makes me want to learn Hebrew. It's a really neat language.

Oh yes, I also swam in the Dead Sea yesterday! It's so weird to be so buoyant. I couldn't drown if I tried...well...ok let's not go there. The scenery was gorgeous. It's really a lovely place, desert and all. I also got to ride a camel. I've decided I don't want to again. They're gross and it wasn't particularly amazing except for the scenery. The desert is way hot. I am tanning even though I cover up and put loads of sunscreen on.

This is not my most eloquent entry, but helas, I have not the time to edit or add pictures or whatnot.

Until next time.

Toda. Lila tov.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb