Via Dolorosa - Way of Sorrow


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
April 30th 2018
Published: May 2nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

This was one of my must do activities while I was here. I specifically packed my Nana's rosary to bring to Isreal to carry it with me during this particular pilgrimage.

I awoke this day and spent a good hour having coffee with Lori and finding out about her life while telling her a bit about mine. Then, it was time to head out and back to the old city.

While there are tours that you can buy, I wanted to go it alone. However, finding the starting point was a bit harder than I had expected. I did stumble onto the first station but I apparently looked very lost. A gentleman asked if I wanted a guide and I totally took him up on it. I hired him and he took me to each station and gave me a bit of history along the way.

I was glad I wasn't with a huge group and that he was talking just to me.

I am not ashamed to say that the silent tears started at the 4th station where Jesus met his mother. I can not tell you were they were coming from but they didn't stop
Station 1Station 1Station 1

This station is actually located within the El Omariga School. During school, most do not go in so not to disrupt classes. However, my guide was able to get me in to show me the view from the spot where Pontius Pilate condemned Jesus.
till well after I was done. After years of growing up going to church 2 days a week and always admiring the stained glass versions of the stations, here I was walking it. If my childhood priest could only see me now! I wish my nana had been here. Apparently you can take the girl out of the Church but it is not as easy to take the Church out of the girl...

After this emotional experience I had to get lunch and take a deep breath to gather myself.

Then, I spent the next couple of hours walking the ramparts. The views were spectacular and just knowing the history (or at least parts of it) made this walk so amazing!

I headed back home to take a nap and the next thing I know Lori is there and she is wanting to take me to dinner...lead on!

We went to a great outdoor restaurant in the Jaffa district, shared a wonderful Jerusalem bottle of wine and I had lamb stew. Everything I have eaten since arriving in Isreal has been delicious and this was no exception!

Then, we walked around popping into shops and grabbing dessert. Apparently the people of Isreal LOVE their sugar!

Before we knew it, it was almost midnight and time to head back to get some sleep.

Wow...what a day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Station 2Station 2
Station 2

There was a mass in progress so the doors to the chapel were closed. However my guide opened them quickly to I could get a snap shot.
Station 4Station 4
Station 4

Tradition says that Mary stood by the roadside in order to see her son. Here, in this little Armenian Catholic chapel, her grief and her sadness are rememberd.
Station 5Station 5
Station 5

According to Christian tradition this hollow was an imprint made when Jesus stumbled and rested his hand upon the wall to keep his balance, and the touch of centuries of pilgrims has smoothed out the stone and made the depression deeper.
Station 7 - Jesus falls for the second timeStation 7 - Jesus falls for the second time
Station 7 - Jesus falls for the second time

Tradition states his death notice was posted here.
Station 10 - Jesus is stripped of his garmentsStation 10 - Jesus is stripped of his garments
Station 10 - Jesus is stripped of his garments

The next 5 stations are within the Basilica.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb