Zach: School in Haifa


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Haifa District » Haifa
October 4th 2007
Published: November 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Since I know you’re all wondering, so (under force) I will write some thing about school.

The first day I went we went into the office. We already knew the principle from the day before. She showed me my room. Then the teacher, Lillian, came in. It is very different in Israel--the kids are really friendly and the teachers come to the class instead of the kids going to the teachers (with the exceptions of library, and music). I have Music, Library, Arabic, PE, English, Hebrew, Hebrew grammar, Bible, Science, Math, Geography, and History. I have 4-6 of these each day, with different classes on different days. All my classes are in Hebrew, and usually I can’t understand them. Some of the teachers translate for me, and in Library, I got to skip work because they’re reading a book. In only two of the classes (Math and English) I have to do any work, because these are the only two I understand. Between each class, there is a 15 min break where we don’t leave the room. We have two 15 min breaks and 2 half-hour recesses where we get to leave the class. In most classes, there are 40 students, but in my class there are only 38 and 35 live in Vardiya (my neighborhood). But to all this goodness we go to school 6 days a week (Sunday to Friday). Most days, school goes from 8:15 am to 1:45, although Monday we get out at 12:50 and Friday we get out at noon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb