Zach: An update on School and a Bat Mitzvah Boat Party


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Haifa District » Haifa
October 27th 2007
Published: November 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

(As dictated to Betsy.)

In school, I’m learning Hebrew and my friends are mostly talking to me in Hebrew but if I don’t understand they talk to me in English. One of my friends talked to my dad and said I’m learning Hebrew really well. I have a tutor named Yuval. He’s really nice and my teacher doesn’t think he’s doing enough. My school teacher wants me to do other stuff with her and not so much with him. My teacher’s making me read a book in Hebrew called “Alexander the Great, the Small" ("אלכסנדר הגדול הקטן"). With Yuval, I’m also learning to conjugate verbs and know colors and numbers, and we have signs on lots of things around the house that I’m learning.

I went to a party on a boat for a bat mitzvah party for the whole class. The boat was on a lake that was so polluted that all the fish died. My friends told me that if I fell in, I would die. We all joked about throwing our friends off the boat. The party was quite interesting. The DJ played the music seventy-billion times louder than it should have been. They had hot dogs at the beginning, and nothing else for about three hours. (I’m a vegetarian.) Everybody danced and someone spilled Coke where I was sitting. The floor got really, really slippery and when I tried to get up I was slipping everywhere. It was really hard to move. Then people started pushing other people into the Coke to make them slide. Lots of people were falling and it was a kind of fun-fight. I fell three times. At the end they had pizza and cake, but the cake was so small that we got only tiny slivers. That was annoying. The party lasted till 10 and then the boat docked and I got a ride home with one of my friends.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb