Blind Museam and Marls and Ants son yonas Bar Mitzvah


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Center District » Rehovot
February 12th 2009
Published: March 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So today tali took us to the Blind Museum. She used to work there and wanted us to have the experience of going to a Museum which is completely in the dark and the tour guide it either blind or seeing impaired. So we get to the Museum and they tell us you can not bring any bags in with you and also if you wear glasses you can no wear them. Someone from NY started to freak but since my prescription is not that strong I felt comfortable to walk around without my glasses. We were given a walking stick and had to make out way through all the exhibits without falling and talking and communicating with everyone that was in the room with us. Also we had to use the walking stick to guide us. There were a couple rooms that we went to. A tree house room, The city (with sidewalks, bikes) real hindrances that seeing impaired have to deal with, the beach, as well as a music room. This is where the floor vibrated so that we could have our other senses amplified even if we would not read the cd of who's music this is. It was a cool place to go but I have to say that I was completely not oriented as was really thrown off with the whole thing that I could not see. Our tour guide his name was Gabi and he is seeing impaired. The problem started when he was 17 and has progressively gotten worse. He works at the museum and lives on his own with his girlfriend. He very much has a normal life.

Right after that i went to Jerusalem so that I could spend the weekend with the Marleen and Antony. Yona's Bar Mitzvah is this weekend and i have been invited. I was very excited since the last time I saw them was when Antony was in India when the attack on the Chabbad house took place. I was able to meet some of their family from abroad and really get to enjoy a relaxing shabbat.

I hope when I move to Jlem for my internship with Ramah that I will be able to see them more.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0767s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb