Most stressful grocery shopping ever.


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Center District » Ra'anana
March 27th 2007
Published: March 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Pesach TimePesach TimePesach Time

ok...so it's an exaggeration...but some people's seders are extended families like this. and also...slightly less asian.
OK so this is going to be a short blog, but I wanted to share this story with you.



So we get food paid for us at work during the night shift. Depending on how many people are working depends on the food we get. Tonight in particular we had 11 people working which meant to only be able to spend 100NIS we had to come up with a cost effective way.

Hence the idea to go to the supermarket and get cold cuts, cheese, salads, and bread. We even threw in some barukahs (potato filled pastries...not periogies but actual pastries).

Delicious, right?

Well............................................

This is apparently the busiest supermarket EVER in Israel, and it doesn't help that Pesach is almost here and that means that people are cooking for their whole family and their families families and their second cousins from Nepal or whatever.



Back to the supermarket...there are 20 lanes (I'm not even exaggerating) open for checkout. Within each "line" or what Israelis like to think is a line, there are about 10 carts deep in each queue. So we pick the least crowded (right) line and start
Cart HellCart HellCart Hell

this is exactly what it was like in the supermarket. where did mr. impatient psychopath want me to go???
to wait. And wait. And wait.

We finally get up to the front and she starts ringing us up. Eitan called me and he was helping pass the time while waiting to get checked out. Meanwhile there was this 4'11 man who was behind me with his cart. The lady was checking us out and we weren't even finished when this old man behind me decided to turn in a psychopath and start freaking out.

He starts yelling at me to get off the phone and to hurry up and then physically starts pushing, or I'm sorry, RAMMING, his cart into my back and yelling. Shiri is screaming at him in Hebrew, I'm yelling in English and I shove my butt back into his cart so hard he flies backwards a bit. That sets him off even more and he starts screaming at me even more. Meanwhile there are carts in front of me, to the side of me and his royal highness' in back of me, still pushing into my back mind you.

I have no where to go.

So finally, we check out and start to go and I scream at him some more
Exactly.Exactly.Exactly.

Welcome to my day.
and say "Shut the F*** up and have a happy Pesach you asshole!" and storm out.

Shiri was so mad that she was practically sprinting across the parking lot and I was having an asthma attack just trying to catch up to her with like in the previous post, a cart that doesn't roll straight!



So in essence, I hope one of the plagues comes back and bites that man in the ass because I was thisclose to punching him in the face. I have never had such a stressful grocery shopping experiance in my life and hope to never get it again.

Oh Israel....thank god your honey turkey and hummus sandwhich was good or else this night would have been a wash.



Oh and on a last note...these people we interview to come on birthright are just plain stupid.

"Are you American or Canadian?" "I'm a US Citizen." "So then.....you're American."

or

"Are you calling from the USA or Canada?" "I'm calling from a house."

or

"Have you read the trip waiver in it's entirety?" "Well sometimes I get headaches...."

and finally.....

"Have you ever been a member of any Jewish organization?" "Does JDate count??"

Retards. For real. Thank goodness I have a sense of humour or else I would have gone crazy by now. 4,000 interviews down, only literally 3,000 more to go.



Advertisement



30th March 2007

blog review
hi jessi, i totally sympathize with your shopping experience. nevertheless, yet again i applaud you on the funny ways you choose to depict your Israel experience, seriously, if i had anything to do with a host show if any kind, i would hurry and sign you up for a year long contract. all you would have to do is show up every week and tell the people in Israel about life here, it's a sure ratings killer, i'm sure! keep up the good work! bye! from itay (your Gmail penpal)

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb