I know I should have written sooner...


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq
November 13th 2006
Published: November 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, I got into Baghdad about a week ago. It's really not so bad. We have our own media center, which is probably about 20 times larger than our office at Fort Hood, so that's really nice. I'm sharing a trailer with one other person. It's pretty small, but I have an actual bed and places to put all my stuff. This is a really nice base, and so far, I'm actually kind of enjoying my time here.

I had Iraqi food for the first time the other night. It was... interesting. Our interpreters made us dinner, and I tried something that looked like a hushpuppie and then some soup-y stuff. I can't say I really enjoyed it, but I did finish everything on my plate.

There's a little coffee shop here that has some great, tea, too. And the DVD stores are great. We bought the Borat movie the other night... wasn't the greatest quality, and you couldn't see the bottom of the screen, but hey, it was only 2 bucks.

The guys we're replacing are going home soon, so eventually we'll be able to set up our stuff permanently and get into an actual routine. That'll be nice.

Anyway, that's really all that's been going on here. Hope everyone is well!

Advertisement



13th November 2006

You ate what?
Way to go, keep trying new things! We sent stuff today! Enjoy!
15th November 2006

You cleaned your plate?
Kate, I'm really proud! You don't even do that with food you like! Anyway, the family will be glad you posted stuff...some people have been checking your blog every day...love you!
16th November 2006

It is good to hear from you. Love the picture! Stay safe. We miss and love you. Randy, Gay, Jordan and Tori!
21st November 2006

Glad you are doing well. Really enjoying the pics.

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 5; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb