Back in town!


Advertisement
Iran's flag
Middle East » Iran » North » Tehran
November 17th 2000
Published: October 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Museum of carpetsMuseum of carpetsMuseum of carpets

Megasnore...
Our last day and we begin by wasting half of it visiting the museum of Persian carpets and another pottery museum. I suppose it can be fascinating to count the millions of knots involved in weaving a carpet masterpiece, but the detailed devotion to each and every design gets rather samey. Each time I walk through a doorway I find myself hoping that it will not open up to yet another hall but to the exit. Heading for lunch both the Bergmans and I are getting a bit fed up of the samey kebab diet and instead insist on only having the tasty soup, bread and salad, skipping the main course. The staff look at each other and Farzaneh, probably muttering something about foreigners....

Afternoon is free time and I head down to the lobby to see if I can find Rezvane. Unsurprisingly she is the one to find me first. We think about where we should go. I suggest a trip to the mountains since the weather is a bit better, but as she has just come down from there we stay at the hotel coffee shop to have some tea and chat. I invite her to come along
A slow day in TehranA slow day in TehranA slow day in Tehran

The two Ayatollahs checking us out.
with us for the farewell dinner at a traditional restaurant and she accepts. I cannot remember the name of the place but it is packed with guests and the live music creates a fantastic atmosphere. After a great evening we unfortunately have to break up, so we give Rezvane a lift home before returning to the hotel. Not only does it suck having to leave, but having to prepare the packing to depart at 2.30 am to catch the plane makes it even more annoying. I have had such a great time in this country and I would love to come back to explore it in more detail.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The crew!The crew!
The crew!

Top row: Mr. Bergman, Mr. Hoseyn and yours truly. Bottom: Farzaneh, Rezvane and Mrs. Bergman.


Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb