Day 9 - Back in my favourite city


Advertisement
Iran's flag
Middle East » Iran » East » Yazd
June 8th 2008
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Yazd from Isfahan on the 6th June. The bus journey was good, a nice air conditioned very punctual bus.
We're staying at Kohan Kashana traditional hotel, which means courtyards, fountains and general lovely atmosphere, all for 300,000 rials a night (twin room, inc. breakfast, en suite).

I've managed to get ill, by eating a camel burger on the 6th. Severe stomach cramps and all the usual food poisoning joy followed, until finally last night I decided I'd better go to a doctor (the LP says to seek medical attention immediately if suffering abdominal pain as well as, erm, bad stomach-ness). We duly headed off, saw a doctor who spoke just about enough English, and then went to find a pharmacy. He had prescribed a syrup to treat the actual bug, some fairly strong painkillers, and a herbal tea to repair my intestines. Apparently I have a fairly common gastrointestinal thing. The joy.

Mike has cheered up a lot after a day spent reading and chilling out, and visiting the hospital. He's booked himself onto a tour tonight including an hour's camel ride. I'm skipping out on this, as I reckon I'd better stay near a bathroom for a while longer. He may do another tour - not sure if I'll do that. Then he's off to Shiraz on 10th (possibly also on a tour!) while I, rather more mundanely, take the bus to Esfahan.

I'm trying to decide what to do with all the extra time in Esfahan. There looks like an interesting art exhibition might be on, and there's a book shop I'd like to check out. I've managed to save one of my Ian Banks books for those days as well. I might just wander quite a lot, and do a little shopping (I need lots of gaz - nougat - for various people). I will also need a small suitcase or holdall to carry extra luggage in, though might try and pick that up here. Am struggling to resist some truly gorgeous carpets.

I'll load all the photos for the trip at the end. Despite not doing a huge amount of sightseeing, I've still taken a couple of hundred pics!

I've also planned my next trip to the Middle East . . . :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb