A Bag recovered and a stroll through Girnea (Kyrenia)


Advertisement
Cyprus' flag
Middle East » Cyprus » Kyrenia
December 11th 2009
Published: April 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Fortunately for us another minibus driver saw me running and asked if he could help. I told him the situation and he rang up the mini bus driver and told me that in 5 minutes I would have my bag back.

20 minutes the bag had arrived, and I joined Ivan and dad for lunch. Girnea (Kyrenia) wasn’t super big - and it was definitely possible to walk most of the city centre. The old town was really nice. We found a place to stay and set off to have a walk around the city centre. We walked past the boats and to the castle and during a delicious dinner, where I had a prawn Caesar salad we debated about taking a car for the hire the next day.

Note: As I couldn't locate my photos for this trip I have used some of my brothers photos. They are much the same as my photos and memories from the trip. Please have a look at his blog here.

Girnea (Kyrenia) castle is defiantly worth a visit. The city itself is really nice and was founded in 10th century BC by Achaean settlers and for many centuries was one of the ten kingdoms of Cyprus.

The castle was built in the 7th century by the Byzantines and expanded by the Lusignans and then by the Venetians. The view from the top was also a really great one to see even though it was raining and not so sunny I really enjoyed it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb