Week one in Catalonia, Spain


Advertisement
Europe
October 22nd 2015
Published: October 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

The first week here was a whirlwind of emotions and culture shock! On our group flight I met a ton of awesome people and was ready to start this new adventure in my lie. This was the start of something amazing, and going around being a tourist and taking pictures of everything it was a good time, so many sights to see! Other than being beyond exhausted I was more then excited to begin exploring this breathtaking place I would be calling my home for the next 3 months. I lucked out when it came to roommates we all get along swimmingly, we are all just veryyyyyyy different people. Living with roommates and sharing a room has been the hardest to adjust to, learning to coexist with people was confusing to say the least, its showed me that rules and boundaries are a must when it comes to living happily together. Being thrust into adulthood full force proved to myself just how much I can thrive on my own, it's just unfortunate that I don't have an income while over here in Spain. While here I learned that Barcelona is actually part of Catalonia whom is currently fighting to be separate from Spain, they also speak Catalan here which is slightly different from Spanish. I still can't speak much Spanish but enough to just squeak by, everything over here tastes different looks different and I love it. This was the change I was searching for, my life and mindset were at such a stagnant state of mind before coming here to this beautiful place I now call my home.

This is a recap of my time during week one in photos….


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.322s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb