London - Day 4


Advertisement
Europe
September 13th 2006
Published: September 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Tuesday, I undertook a whirlwind sightseeing blitz. I saw some of the major landmarks such as Bukingham Palace, Tower Bridge (the famous drawbridge), Tower of London (not really that impressive), St. Paul's Cathedral (did not climb 500+ stairs up to the observation deck),
Westminister Abbey and St. Margaret's Church, and Kensington Palace (Diana's last residence before she died). I did manage to catch a breather in St. James' Park - one of several large city parks.

In the evening, I decided to take in a performance of Antony and Cleopatra at Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, next to the Tate Modern. I paid £5 to stand for 3 hours at the front of the stage. Though my feet were dead tired by the end of it, I must say that it was pretty neat to be there at the theatre as if I were living in the 17th century. I wish I had pictures to show of the theatre, but cameras are forbidden (for obvious reasons). And by the way, even teenagers get dressed in their suits to watch a performance.

I'm writing this at about 8:30 in the morning and thus am not fully awake yet. I will however leave you with some more observations that I didn't feel like stringing together by coherent paragraphs:

- Orwell must be turning over and over in his grave: London is full of security cameras. There is a camera everywhere you go in the city.
- Marks and Spencer is good for cheap food to go
- While I was having an English breakfast for dinner at a local cafe, 2 teenage girls who looked no older than 16 discussed the boys at school and "sloppy seconds". They were fairly loud too and had no intentions of making their conversation more discrete despite the fact that my table was right next to theirs.
- So far, I think I've spent about 30%!o(MISSING)f my time on the Tube. It's unusually humid here right now and when it's crowded, it's like a sauna. Sometimes your train sits there, with people up against you, for up to 5 minutes at a time. I'd say that I've developed a love-hate relationship with the Tube.

Advertisement



14th September 2006

You have yet to learn
So Marks and Spencer has good for cheap food "take away" =P Sounds like an entertaining vacation so far. So jealous, wish I was there!!!

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb