Travel Out Your Fear


Advertisement
Europe
October 7th 2014
Published: October 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

One of my childhood dreams was to travel. I remember watching some American family movies or Oprah when I was about 10 years old and daydreaming about visiting North America and going to Disneyland. I have always been torturing my dad to promise me we’d go to Disneyland one day together and even though this promise never came true, there are many others that did. Our first trip together was London and it was the next best thing to Disneyland.

As I said before, since I was a very little girl I have always dreamt of travelling, I haven’t only dreamt however, I really did travel. Since I was only six I had been lucky enough to visit Croatia, Italy, Hungary, Sweden, Czech republic, Spain, Denmark, Germany, Austria and probably some other European countries I can’t remember any more. All this travelling has been done due to an acrobatic and dancing group I took part in and I can now proudly say it was one of the best period of my life which opened up many unknown doors to my personality and a window from which I could see the world.

These were my first real contacts with the world of travelling and the wish to do so never really vanished. Now, after 15 years since I left the acrobatic group and after seeing many other countries on continents far away from Europe I began feeling afraid. In three weeks from now I am heading to South America and the fear of not knowing what will happen is entering my body. I just read these next lines on the web, it is not like I haven’t heard it before, but they really do apply to this particular situation.

“It seems that most people fret, worry, and lose sleep over some of the silliest things they've done. But what’s funny is that later on, more often than not, it’s the things they didn't do that they still think about.”

So I decided not to give in (I already bought the ticket anyway 😊) and face my newborn fear I haven’t been familiar with in my childhood nor in my teenage years. It also seems the older we get the more scared we get, probably due to the fact that society is pressing upon us and we don’t really want to stand out from the crowd. It’s not like 27 year old women are supported when deciding to live out their lives to the fullest, turn down job offers at home and head to see the world.

Well, anyhow my one-way plane ticket is booked and the child in me is widely awake. Lets go for it!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb