Housekeeping, Cravings and Unexpected Kindnesses


Advertisement
Europe
August 27th 2006
Published: September 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

These are just some boring introspective thoughts between blog entries. I would have been away for almost 5 months this week. It's funny the things you take for granted, and the unexpected kindness from random strangers.

Simple things like getting a haircut can end in tragedy, particularly if you are speaking in another language. I'm basically too un-co to cut my hair in front of the mirror, so have braved the local salons twice so far. A hairdresser here in Split kindly cut my fringe for me and refused to accept any payment, so I offered her some nectarines I'd bought at the local market instead.

In Spain I needed to catch the last bus back to Seville, as I had to catch a train from there the next morning. The bus driver said there were no places and refused to let me on. Even after much pleading, he threatened to call the police if I didn't get off. Whilst sitting in the bus shelter at 10.30pm at night, and contemplating my options including how comfortable it would be to sleep in the train station until the first trains went out, suddenly the bus driver got off and waved me over. Apparently the locals on the bus had kicked up a huge stink and demanded the driver let me on. Rather overwhelming to step onto the bus to loud cheering and applause.

Plus I've met some really nice people on the road too. A couple I met on the Cuba tour, Andy and Claire Powell, were more than happy to put me up for a night in London and even pick me up from the airport, and see me off for my flight to Dubrovnik the next day. But things didn't go to plan - it was a major debacle from the start. Firstly, bloody Iberia had cancelled my Marrackech-Madrid ticket for no reason; I had to purchase another ticket to go via Casablanca; then the flight from Casablanca was delayed for further 2 hours meaning I missed the last 3 flight connections to London and had to spend the night in Madrid airport (slept on a cafe bench). Because of the time difference, I managed to call Qantas to get me on the 1st flight out which arrived at Heathrow at 8.30am, but due to the recent security upheavals didn't get my bags until 9.30am. No problems, as Andy and Claire really wanted to catch up with me even if it was only for the hour it took to drive me at high speed on the M25 to Gatwick in order to make my 11.50am Dubrovnik flight. Not enough time even for a coffee. It was really sweet of them.

Food-wise, you can have too much of a good thing. In South America, if I never ate another fried chicken with potatoes, it wouldn't be too soon. The same in Morocco with the tagines and kebabs. Argentina was great as I got my steak fix. Lately I've been craving my Dad's cooking, Mum's lamb roast, lobster cooked the chinese way, fresh oysters, sushi, and a steaming bowl of won-tons and noodles. Will have to wait until I get to Asia in December. Now understand why people weaken and say "Stuff it, I'm off to Macca's". I haven't reached that stage yet.











Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb