Cruising Europe June 2012


Advertisement
Europe
May 14th 2012
Published: May 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Oahu BeachOahu BeachOahu Beach

This is a picture I took of a beach in Oahu.
This is where I would add the text of my blog. Back in March, I wrote about how Oceania’s cuisine rivals the finest shoreside restaurants and I revealed that because I’m a foodie, wine enthusiast and avid traveler, an Oceania cruise is now on my bucket list! The forces of the universe must’ve been working in my favor.



Shortly after, I was asked by our President and COO to represent the company alongside Sharl on Oceania Riviera’s christening cruise! I am beyond excited about this opportunity.



At 66,084 tonnes and 785 feet long, Riviera is an elegant mid-sized ship. She has 15 decks total, of which 11 are guest decks. With a guest capacity of 1,250 and staff size 800, the guest to staff ratio is 1.57 to 1.



Riviera, like her sister ship Marina, is designed for foodies. In fact, do you want to guess who the godmother of Riviera is? Cat Cora!



For those who aren’t familiar with this name, Cat Cora is the first female chef on Iron Chef America. She is also the co-host of a new show called Around the World in 80 Plates.
Blue SerenityBlue SerenityBlue Serenity

As I gazed into the ocean I wanted to just jump in.




Back to the ship, Riviera is equipped with nine restaurants.



Grand Dining Room

Jacques – Named after world renowned chef and their executive culinary director, Jacques Pépin and offering French cuisine.

Red Ginger – Asian Fusion

Polo Grill – steakhouse

Toscana – Italian cuisine

Terrace Café – casual dining buffet with option to dine alfresco

Waves Grill – casual dining buffet

Privée – private party for up to 10 guests. Can be reserved for $250 per evening.

La Reserve – seven-course wine pairing dinner with a maximum of 24 guests. $95 per guest and 18% gratuity.



On this trip, Sharl and I have plans to dine in the Grand Dining Room, Red Ginger and Toscana. We will likely try Terrace Café and Waves a couple of times, too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Hotels on the BeachHotels on the Beach
Hotels on the Beach

Blah blah blah.....
Sandy LaneSandy Lane
Sandy Lane

Blah blah blah....
Diamond HeadDiamond Head
Diamond Head

I didn't find a single diamond on that thing!


Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb