Out of service


Advertisement
Europe
July 14th 2011
Published: July 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Happy Bastille day! I get the day off from school and thankfully it's really hot out with clear skies so today was a lounge day. I began my morning how I would like to start all my mornings, surfing to begin the day followed by a run while it was still cooler out, then spent the rest of the afternoon sunning myself at le grande plage. Super tough life I know. Surfing this morning was great. The water was perfect, although with the rough weather yesterday a lot of Portuguese man o wars were found on the beach. It was slightly creeping me out. Today's mission was to see if I could start reading the waves and seeing which ones to take. This is a lot harder than one would think. I thought I would try to get the wave before it broke. This resulted in two things. 1 the exhilarating feeling of the force of the water pushing you and the moment of fearlessness when you try to overtake the wave and stand on your board and 2, the feeling of the wave tossing you into a washing machine of water and slamming you into the shallow ocean floor. After a couple of wipe outs I lost a bit of my nerve and tried out some smaller waves. My teacher Clemont kept saying"Ca Va?". At least he wasn't calling me girl.
The rest of the day was spent at le grande plage, a nice stretch of beach packed with vacationers, families and topless women. Such a European thing, doesn't bother me as much as wondering what you do with nipple burn.

I haven't been writing as much and uploading pics because trying to access wifi is impossible. And the sim card I bought isint always working. Hopefully I can put some pics up soon. Fireworks on the beach tonite and san Sebastian on saturday! Going to get my eat on!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb