Roma


Advertisement
Europe
June 3rd 2011
Published: June 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I decided to just place both Rome days in one entry because I had a horrid migraine last night and found myself incapacitated. 
June 3:
We woke up and went to the Vatican which was absolutely mind blowing! Our guide's name was Elizabetta and she was super tall and super gorgeous and super nice; in summary she was a super guide. 
Well the Vatican could easily have been its own day with all of its art work and sculptures and tapestries. My favorite part was the Stamp Room; every inch of the hall was covered in either an elaborate sculpted piece of gold or and intricate map. The light was also shining down the hallway so it illuminated every facet of the gold--absolutely astonishing. 
Well like I said that could have easily been its own day but we then headed over to Saint Peter's Basilica. I'm telling you right now the pictures are nothing like it. It is absolutely mind boggling how Divinci  created that place in four years. Impossible!
But we didn't stop there. Then we went to see the horrors of the Coliseum. It was amazing! Like everything else on this trip...It was so grand and it captured the essence of the gladiators. It was also very hot. And we climbed 400 steps to get to the top. But it was definitely worth the work out. The view from up there was an expanse of  bleachers for spectators and the intricate maze of the animal cages below.
After that we went to the Roman Forum. Now was when the day got really hot. I'm talking really hot but oh so worth it. We walked around the ruins and saw the statues of the virgins and even the tomb of Julius Cesar...McKyler about wet his pants over that one. 
June 4:
This was our free day in Rome. This was my absolute one hundred percent no doubt about it favorite day in Rome. We woke up and headed down town and were dropped off by the Wedding Cake building aka the Capitol Hill. Then we walked down a few streets visited a few Basilicas the best being the French Basilica. Then Mom took a wrong turn and led us in a completely different direction than where we wanted to go so we had to back track a bit but we finally came to a small market. This was the best of the beat day. We got to walk around the shops and barter with the shop keepers. All of them were so nice and I loved it! I even got a chance to use my French at a dried fruit stand which was awesome. I can't wait fir Greece where I'll get to use my French even more. Mom Avery and I bought a chunk of romano cheese and three fruit cups and sat down by the fountain for lunch. It was perfect. Then we headed up to the Spanish Steps for some afternoon shopping. After that we headed to the Borgese Park for some relaxation and gellato. McKyler and Chris rented a couple of bikes and rode around the park. Mom Avery and Cody thought it would be fun to do the same but instead rented a bike cart and probably had completely too much fun going too fast and going down hills and almost running people over. Themn it was time to meet for dinner and then we headed back to the hotel to get ready for the next adventure which I am doing right now. I'll give you an update once we get to the hotel tomorrow night.
Buona note!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb