Carnaval in Sitges (Cultural Activity)


Advertisement
Europe
March 10th 2011
Published: May 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Carnaval was unlike any other experience I have ever had. It was one of my favorite weeks in Spain. It was kind of like a week long Halloween celebration and the craziness was what I imagine New Orleans to be like for Mardi Gras.

During Carnaval I attended two parades, one in Sitges and one in Barcelona. Both were great and very similar. I was a little surprised by the culture of the parade. The costumes were outrageous and some of them would not have been culturally accepted/appropriate in the United States. I am particularly referring to all of the groups, in both parades, that were dressed up as "black people." They painted their faces black and had afro wigs on. In the U.S. this would not be allowed and would be seen as prejudice and would infuriate many. It was definitely something different to see, however I think it is just part of the culture here and I don't think it was meant offensively. It is just another example of a cultural difference.

Sitges was far more crazy then Barcelona. It was like a huge party that took over the city. I couldn't walk more then one foot in any direction and I was crammed between thousands of people. It was complete chaos and I loved it. It is an experience that I will always remember and one I think every person in the world should experience at some point in their life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb