Scotland!


Advertisement
Europe
September 20th 2010
Published: September 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

We're finally here in Glasgow. Sorry for not writing in so long; Steph and I are definitely regretting that we didn't bring our computers. It might have been heavy, but it would have been worth it. But right now we are in the library...with library cards that work throughout Glasgow. Don't ask me how that happened. I don't think I like Glasgow all that much. It looks like a typical city and very dirty. In Ireland, no matter where we went I felt safe, and it was clean. I can't say the same for here, and I definitely wouldn't want to be out by myself at night.

That said, I think I like Scotland much better. It is absolutely beautiful here with the rolling hills and the tiny, tiny towns right on the coast. In Ireland I could feel the history looking at the hedgerows and stone fences, but here it feels wild. Almost like anywhere you go, you wouldn't see people for days and days. We drove up the coast rode on the way up to Glasgow, and, even though I didn't sleep at all the night before (we had to leave the hostel by 4am so we just didn't go to bed), I couldn't fall asleep on the bus; the scenery was just amazing.

We've figured out that our budget is £4 a day; not that much when we need food and transportation. I don't think we'll be able to go on any tours and such, but we prefer doing things at our own pace anyway. Speaking of our pace, I have shin splints! Who'd have thought? I guess I'm not used to all the walking we've been doing, but the main problem are my shoes. You don't realize how important good support is until you walk 5 miles in flats. Ouch! <--- Yes, I sound like an old woman. Well, I DID just have a birthday; we're getting up in years 😊

Thank you for the birthday wishes! If anyone thought we celebrated by going out and partying in the Irish night life I hate to disappoint you, but we went out and had only one guinness while we watched the Liverpool match. Yes, only one drink. And unfortunately, my boyfriend, Fernando Torres did not play that game. It was a slow birthday. (Btw, I hope Gpa enjoyed his ecard. We bought a phone thing but still haven't figured out how to use it. Pay phones won't work, but hopefully you'll hear from us soon.) After that, Steph and I were in bed before 10pm. I'm sure everyone is shocked to know that I have been going to sleep before 10pm every night and am awake by 6am. What is this world coming to?

There's not much planned for the next few days. A friend of ours from Germany is going to meet us for dinner tonight, and we are going to the Botanic Garden tomorrow. After that, we leave on the 11pm bus for London (thank goodness) and are probably going to meet with another friend there. I'm really looking forward to London, but I don't think my legs are. Other than that, I'm really glad we decided to do this! We miss everyone though. Love to all.

- A

Advertisement



20th September 2010

Hi girls, Your mother and I naturally worry about you over there, so glad to hear you are being safe. Yes B, you need some good tennis shoes, that is the only way to get rid of the shin splints. Hope you enjoy London. Don't forget the Tower of London. Love you, Dad
20th September 2010

haha, well Dad I have tennis shoes. But naturally, I can't wear them if they don't fit the outfit! Just kidding, I just didn't expect to be walking as much as we have been, so I didn't put them on. Steph is wearing hers and she's fine. Love you Big D!

Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb