Monday: Kharkov Day 3


Advertisement
Europe
September 13th 2010
Published: September 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day three in Kharkov



Weather: Another beautiful, sunny day! Jacket may be left in the apartment today. It's about 20 degrees with the odd cloud in the sky.

Up at 7:45 this morning.

Was watching TV last night, and heard some bangs coming from outside. Checked the window, and was treated to a beautiful fireworks show going on over at the northern edge of town. No idea what the occasion, but it looked great from here!

Today was spent window shopping, and exploring in the other direction from the apartment from previous days. Very cool shops along Pushinska Street! Found an MTC store relatively quickly. Topped up the phone with another 50 hryvnia. I managed to figure out, through my broken Russian and his broken English, that any balances remaining on the phone (pay-as-you-go) don't expire for 1 year from last payment! Now, providing I return to Ukraine before September 13, 2011, I will still have a phone and retain the existing phone number.
Dropped by a cafe for lunch, basic, regular food. Although, the DID have "Coka-Cola light"!! It's not quite Diet Coke, and not quite Coke Zero .. but somewhere between the two! LOL AMAZING Tiramisu though! *droooool*

Weather update: damn hot!! LOL

From there, I went down random side streets, checking out the shops, and managed not to get lost by only staying one street away from Pushinska at all times :o)
Stopped by a local bakery for a snack on the way back to the apartment. I have no idea what I ordered .. I just pointed to what looked good, they put it in a bag, and took my money. LOL But ....damn, was it good!!

I dropped by the apartment periodically through the day. Mainly to rest the feet. Uploaded the camera memory each time, and started off fresh.
While walking down one street, I got passed by probably the tallest woman I have ever seen. She had a few good inches over me!! I estimate she was minimum 6 foot tall .. that was before the heels she was wearing!! Oh.so.hot!
Sat in the park by the fountain for a while and just 'people watched' for a bit. That was fun. Saw quite a few characters, from interesting to strange.

In the park beside McDonald's there are glass enclosed miniature sculptures of each of the 'main' points of interest throughout Kharkov. That was pretty cool. I took a picture of each, and will match them up with the photo of the 'real' building later on.

Finally heard from Masha. She is Inga's English "speaking" friend. (I put that in quotes because I think my Russian is actually better than her English!!) I will be meeting Inga tomorrow for lunch.

Sun has set for the day. It's currently 20:05. So, I am in for the night now. Mosquitoes ever bad around here!! I think I have more bites on me from the past few days than I had my entire camping trip last year!

I also have my driver confirmed for Wednesday morning to the rail station. He will be out front of the apartment building at 6:00. The train departs Kharkov at 7:06. I should be in Kiev around (scheduled arrival time is) 12:56. I have my apartments confirmed for Kiev, and will check in there around 13:30-14:00. No plans for Wednesday evening (yet), but that can change within an email or two. LOL
Thursday is supposed to be spent with Lena, and Friday with Oksana. The rest of the week should be pretty busy and interesting.

That will pretty much conclude today's entry. The rest of the evening will be spent watching TV, and surfin' the net until bed (probably around 22:00).
G'night all!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0981s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb