Europe - the unknown


Advertisement
Europe
October 23rd 2009
Published: October 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am planning a trip to Europe in summer 2010 for me and my 10 year old daughter.
We would like to stay - forever, okay, maybe 2 months or so and would like to rent an apartment somewhere or in two different places and then go from there and take little trips. I'm trying to decide the best place to have as "home base". Italy and Ireland are two places that stick in my mind but not for any reason in particular. If anyone has any advice/suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it.
Thanks!

Advertisement



23rd October 2009

Suggestion: Germany
Hi, if you plan to fly over to europe for a longer time i would suggest you pick a country "in the middle". I live in Germany. As example: from here you reach nearly most countries of europe within half a day. I often drive down to italy (8-10 hours) or sometimes visit the Netherlands (Amsterdam is 4 hours away from me) It does take a little longer if you want to go to England, Sweden or Spain though.
24th October 2009

Idea.
do you have a home you could homeswap? This is extremely fun and good way to save money. I've done it and I can't list all the benefits. there are several services online. Trade two or three weeks with someone from Ireland or Italy or England and you will have your home base. I don't know where you live but perhaps there are people who want to travel and homebase there. Good luck!

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb