The Nomadic Romantic English Gentleman


Advertisement
Europe
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In 1995 I decided on a lifestyle change, at the ripe old age of forty-five. Having spent three years working out out the concept, I set myself the task of travelling the world. I suppose we need the why's and wherefores, let just say it was political and legal.

Having said my farewells to family and friends around England I set my sights on Holland, Germany, France and Spain. Around 6000 kilometres in six months all by bicycle, an awe inspiring, lifestyle change you couldn't even buy as a package holiday.

I arrive after the six months in Almeria, a small town on south coast of Andalusia after my first traffic accident.
6K and a ruddy car with Spanish drive comes round a bend on my side of the road, bump.

Which led me to spend the next two weeks in Almeria until the bike could be repaired.

For the technically minded, the bike was a Giant Expedition 1995. I had a Bob Trailer and two large bags on the rear of the bike, plus a handle bar bag. The best tent in the world from Hilleberg tents from Sweden. Sleeping system from Buffalo Super bag Sleeping System and for cooking a Trangia Cooking System again from Sweden.

The bicycle, trailer, bags, tent, sleeping system and cooking system were the best in the world and never let me down.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb