South of France / Madrid / UK - Chapter 2!


Advertisement
Europe
September 26th 2009
Published: October 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

CessenonCessenonCessenon

View from hilltop of the village
August 15th - current (12th September)
More on France, trip to Madrid & working in the UK!

Yes it has been nearly two months since my last update, cannot believe where the time has gone! Much has happened in that time too, catching up with more friends in UK and Spain (Madrid) but I have been working for 5 weeks so hasn't all been fun ... OK maybe, a little bit!!!!

A fair bit of time has been spent down in the South of France seeing the house metaporhasis. There has been considerable work done on it to date and unfortunately can only offer you the latest on the renovations as at 1st Sept. Since this video (3mins ground and 1st floor & 1.3mins top floor) the top floor has been complete and we have been staying overnite in what is meant to be the master bedroom which we have made into a tv room with a sofa bed. But we still need to go to the other house for our cups of coffee and snacks as the kitchen has yet to be installed...... ooops! doesn't seem like I can upload the video files as they are too large
My Friend & her kidsMy Friend & her kidsMy Friend & her kids

Linda & kids, Emma & Alistair
to upload here. Will show you on my return!

Madrid was great though I only managed to see it at nite. The days were too hot to venture out in the heat, especially with my friend having two young children, but it was still as impressive at nite. So thanks to my friend Linda for being able to see some of the sights.

We also went to a lovely wedding in the Pyrenees where we had to pick up the pig from the abbatoir for the pig roast for the wedding. We had a bit of a problem getting the pig in the boot it was that big but we eventually squeezed it in! It was a fabulous venue, a chateau, which they hired out and the journey up to the pyrenees was so postcard perfect. Passing through fields of sunflowers & pretty vilages like Fois (see pics). It was such an enjoyable wedding, lots of drinking, lots of food and lots of dancing!

We also spent time with our friends who were down from Paris again. We spent the day down in Narbonne at the beach there in Gruissan which was very pretty. They have a
MadridMadridMadrid

Calle Mayor, center of Madrid
catamaran which we took out on the water which would have been more fun had we had some wind but nonetheless it was a fun day out.

Our trip to Italy had to be postponed as I got a short-term contract in the UK, delivering a piece of work for Lloyds TSB bank, which I still may return to UK to finalise.

It has been great catching up with friends and family and seeing how everyones lives have moved on. I guess I will miss ole blighty but I certainly won't be missing the weather!!

I am currently in US spending time with the other sister and her family and recovering from a half marathon that I got roped into doing. I got a text the day before I left UK, last Thursday, 8th Oct, asking the question and I stupidly agreed, having not trained for at least 7 weeks, you can imagine how I felt the next day and still recovering!! Yes I know, I should have known better! But pleased I did it and in not too shabby a time considering there was no training! And yes my sister beat me, by 1min 49secs!!!
MadridMadridMadrid

My friend Linda & I, nite out in the city!

Just a few photo's from the trip! (goes to second page) .... Caz, you will note how it has rubbed off on me taking pictures of oneself!!

My flight to Oz is tonite from US, so will be back on Sat but flying off to Perth for a friends wedding and will return to Sydney on 25th Oct.

Looking forward to catching up with everyone down under in the next couple of weeks.
x







Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

MadridMadrid
Madrid

My new fella I found in Spain!!!
Old friends!Old friends!
Old friends!

My dear friend Babs (aka squat landlord!) & I
Old travelling budOld travelling bud
Old travelling bud

My friend Kathleen, hubby Will & baby Ava. Kathleen and I met in Fiji in 1997 and continued on to Hawaii & US, was a fab time!
Catching up with old friendsCatching up with old friends
Catching up with old friends

Tink (aka Justin ... long story ...!) & his son Jonah
Gruissan beach, NarbonneGruissan beach, Narbonne
Gruissan beach, Narbonne

It's a hard life this!!!
The happy groom & best man!The happy groom & best man!
The happy groom & best man!

Chateau in the Pyrenees
Pyrenees weddingPyrenees wedding
Pyrenees wedding

Yes, it was that time of nite ....!
SouthamptonSouthampton
Southampton

Annual street party .... any excuse!
SouthamptonSouthampton
Southampton

Youngest sis, Odette, & kids Niamh & Connor
Gorge d'Heric, Roussillon, FranceGorge d'Heric, Roussillon, France
Gorge d'Heric, Roussillon, France

A beautiful walk to do in this region
Gorge d'Heric, Roussillon, FranceGorge d'Heric, Roussillon, France
Gorge d'Heric, Roussillon, France

One of the many rock pools to swim in
Catching up with friends ...Catching up with friends ...
Catching up with friends ...

Andrea & David at Benihana's in London
More friends ...More friends ...
More friends ...

My friend Miriam & I catching up at Cafe Maggiore, Convent Garden, Londn
Friends from Shefford ...Friends from Shefford ...
Friends from Shefford ...

Martins good friend Liz and his godson, Rya


Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb