Beautiful Bordeaux and beyond....or Wine, walking and water


Advertisement
Europe
September 10th 2009
Published: September 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,
Unfortunately, I can,t post any pics with this blog, but rest assured, I will as soon as I can.
I had a completley amazing time in bordeaux, thanx to my CS host Katia. She met me at the tram station when I got into town which was quite late at night. We brought my pack to her flat which is right in the middle of the old city and near the river, the opera, the shopping and the restaurants. We went for a midnight stroll and saw beautiful bordeaux at night...I was in awe! The next day,after going to the market to get some fresh fruit, we had a nice breakfast (late) and I went exploring on my own. Lots of fun; then KATIA joined me a little later and showed me some of the old churches and historic architecture. They have a couple of bldgs that held the court of Louis the XIV, Le Roi de Soleil.

Next day we spent the day at the ocean playing in the surf and laying on the beach topless! (thanks for the underwear, Karen, I can also use them as bathing bottoms!); Pretty amazing feeling...ha ha ha; I did the first 2 Munay Ki rites for her on the beach. It was pretty special. After we got back, we went out and had a very good dinner and then walked around town again. I got some really good pics and wish I could post them now.

Next morning we went on a hunt for the best *pain au chocolate* in the city. OMG...they were all delicious! We also got a baguette which, when I was eating it, caused one of my back teeth to break in half!!! Katia quickly helped me to make an apt with a dentist in St Jean Pied de Port but could only get one for 4pm the day I*m supposed to start the camino. I have a reservation at the next stop which I canĂ¹t change so have to press on until, hopefully, I can see one in Pamplona.

Took the train to SJPdP yesterday. It*s very busy here. I ended up getting a room in an Auxberges called Les Etoiles. Slept in a room with 4 single bunks and & double; so 12 people...needless to say, didnt get much sleep. Nice people; tho. Met up with Camino KEN and start the route as soon as I finish this blog...so off I go!!!

MUCH LOVE TO ALL OF YOU!

Advertisement



10th September 2009

Enjoy..
Hey Jackie, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Paris and look forward to seeing more pics. Too bad about your tooth. I'm sure you'll find a good dentist in Spain. A song keeps popping up in my head "On the road again"..lol All the best during your camino walk sweetie. Fran xoxo
10th September 2009

So Happy For You!
Your trip sounds wonderful Jackie, and I'm sure it will continue that way. I love reading your blog... it's almost like being there myself! What a great adventure for you! Miss you... Love, Nancy xxxooo

Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb