Lunchreams


Advertisement
Europe
September 9th 2009
Published: September 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi igain everybody!


I am lunching by the computer today, dreaming about travelling of course. I was just looking at some last minute trips on the net and I am so tempted to just choose one and go. But last minute trips are'nt the best possible choise for me because the often have unspecified hotels witch makes it diffikult to plan ahead with regards to my alleries.
Maybe I should explain a little bit more about my allergies? Certain foods or their derivatives can be lethal to me. When I travel abroad I always need to have an epi-pen with me just in case. It could be a life saver if my food contains allergens. Another life saver are the alert cards that I always print a bunch of before leaving home. An alert card is a little note that you give to the waitor and he/she can pass the card on to the chef who prepares the food. When I was younger this kind of service hardly existed and I am extremly happy that it does now. There are several to choose from but my personal favorite is definetly because they have translations that are actionoriented in 55 different languages. The fact that the message of allergy is effectively delivered to the person who makes the food has helped me every time I have used the alert card. One time when we went travelling just us girls (5 people), two of my friends used the card as well althoug I am the only one with allergies. My first friend is a vegatarian and she wanted alert cards because of that and my second friend did not want to deviate from her low fat diet and wanted to make sure the chef could take that into account when prepering her food. We were all very satisfied although we used the cards differently. 😱
So nowadays I ain't afraid to travel and I can even consider taking chances with last minute trips. And with the gloomy cold weather we are having today I would'nt mind jumping on a plane right away. But for the moment I will settle for just looking at the sunny beautiful pictures and reading travelblogs at lunch... Take care! 😊
Allergy Anna logging out


Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb