Sweden / Coming Back


Advertisement
Europe
August 14th 2009
Published: August 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody,

Things at Svanholm have been going well. Im keeping busy with the building group after a great summer vacation.

After touring around Denmark with the family I went up to Sweden with a few friends for about 2 weeks to stay at my friends summer cabin. We didnt have a car so we decided to take our bikes and go by train. Once we took the train to Kalmar we decided it might be a good idea to bike up to Hogsby. Unfortunately, unknown to us, Hogsby was 90km away. We assumed it was 40km away, but with 150 cans of Danish beer on our bikes and after a day of sitting on the train we found ourselves camping in the forest for our first night. The next day we biked around 30km and stopped at a small town to see if we could ask some locals for a lift. Lucky for us we found two folks with a pick up truck and asked them if they could drive us up to Hogsby, luckily, they agreed.

Once we got to the summer cabin we had a really great time. Lots of beer and lots of fishing. We got ourselves 5 jack fish and managed to dig out an old fish smoker from Helges cabin and managed to get it working. There was no electricity and no indoor toilet in the cabin so it was fairly rustic but worked out just fine. We used oil lamps inside and spent most of our time either swimming or finding cantarella mushrooms in the forest to eat for dinner. We saw several wild hogs and spent a great deal of time smacking bugs and checking for ticks.

We came back about 2 weeks ago and, despite looking at the possibilities of going to school in Denmark, Ive decided to come back to Canada.

I will be coming home in September where I will soon start a carpentry apprenticeship. I have been told by the collective that I am more than welcome to come back if I choose, but I will wait and see.

I have to grab something to eat before I get back to work but I thought I would write a little update while I had some time.

All the best,
Nicholas

Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb