Leaving Australia


Advertisement
Europe
May 3rd 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Days 1 and 2 - Leaving on a jet plane



Even though we have been gone for almost three months we have decided to type up my journal.
So at the time of writing I was sitting at gate 30 of Abu Dhabi International Airport waiting for the much shorter part of my flight to Paris. The first leg lasted 14.5 hours and asper usual I managed to get seated near kids and when I say kids I don't mean one or two kids I mean eight.

It was the longest and hardest flight of my life; all revolving around the fact that I am a mess who will not stop crying as Ben is not here with me. During the first flight I am pretty sure that I managed to cry about twenty times. I'm just a bundle of fun for the guy I was sitting next to, pretty much just a big party. 😊 The plane was really nice, the food was decent and seemed to be neverending, you know like one of those packets of Tims Tams that I am definitely not going to see for a very long time 😞 The individual entertainment systems were awesome, you may think this was the highlightof my flight but if you thought that you were actually incorrect as the highlight was actually when the Arab father of six of the child I mentioned previously got woken up as he was sleeping on the floor and preceded to swear and then punch a male flight attendant. I even got to make a statement, much excitement.

Now that I am still sitting at this gate it is obvious that the only good part of the stopover was reading and replying to Ben's facebook messages. We are hopeless as I am crying yet again. Time to board the plane, fingers crossed for no children in my vicinity.

The second part of my flight was much better; no screaming brats, noone wanting to punch on and it was only seven and a half hours. Although I had no sleep for much of the two flights I felt glad to land in Paris yet sad as Ben wasn't here with me. Fingers crossed he'll fly out on the nineth.

Paris' Charles De Gualle airport was a breeze yet it still took ages to get out of. It took twenty minutes for me to get the smallest train ticket I have ever bought in my life from the longest line of my life. The train network was easy to navigate and it only took 45 minutes to reach my hostel; the St Christophers Inn. Although not cheap at 30 Euro a night for a ten bedroom mixed dorm. Yet it was new, secure, had curtains around each bed and plugs for each bed.

I went to bed at 7:30 after bawling my eyes out talking to Ben on facebook. I tried to get a European sim card but couldn't actually find any that worked outside of France. If i ever I thought that I was going crazy it was tonight as I never thought being without Ben would be so hard. Tomorrow I'm off to Bruges in Belgium for my first stop on the Busabout loops.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb