first trog (travel blog)


Advertisement
Europe
July 22nd 2009
Published: July 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

ok well this is my first blog. I don’t really know how to write or who I am writing for but I just want to keep some sort of diary about my travels. hopefully I will keep up with them! lol

well I live in Ukraine and I have lived here for 2 years so far. I’m about to go into the air force as EOD but that won't be for a while. I have a lot of stories already and I will write about them if nothing interesting happened that day but something interesting always happens lol. Like yesterday, I saw VP Joe Biden. That was pretty dang sweet so I will tell you about it.

Well I woke up late cuz my parents didn't remember that the dude was coming even though they have working on it for the past few months... ya they are smart like that. So anyways, I wake up and I get dressed it like 30 minutes. fine. great. went to the Hyatt. waited 2 hours only to see him for about half an hour. I was pissed but I didn't have to go to work the in the afternoon so I was happy about that! (ok I did have work I just didn't work. I'm just a summer hire at the embassy and they probably didn't notice. so hush).

after the Biden thing, my friend and I took my little maltesepoodle, Danny, to Shevchenko Park in front of Red University. We took our Mexican blanket and talked for hours. Danny ran after a pony that was a ride for the little kids (they do that here. its freaking random, like one time I saw an amphibious vehicle at the beach... ya) I thought he was going to die lol. he's a crack dog.

But yes after the park we went to Krishatic to see what was happenin. not much has and it started to rain and I had to let my mom into the apartment so we decided to go home. on the way home, we saw a bunch of peace corps people and a south American that immigrated to America and is now in Ukraine just for the hell of it. I'm going to take him out on Friday. I felt sorry for him because he's just kind bumming around following a guidebook for directions (those always fail in Ukraine, they don't update enough). We are going to a party-resonant that my friend works at that has a salsa night with a bunch of Cubans on Saturday with a live band and everything. I want to ask them how Cuba is because it is more of a vacation destination but a lot of people try to get away from it. It just confuses me. we also met this weird Ukrainian guy who kind of freaked me out so we didn't talk long.

I've notice that since I have lived here, more and more people are starting to speak English. I don't mean they learn because I'm here, I mean that when I first came here, no one spoke English, but not a lot do! like a LOT! I can't talk about naughty things out loud anymore. it's really cool actually. but still, many many people don't speak English. Of course my Russian isn't exactly the best either hehe.

but after we got home, we met up with friends, went shopping, and just hung out. that's what my days consist of. I can get around without a car, without any real fear, and I can meet people because when another foreigner hears another foreigner, they talk to each other. that's my life. ha-ha. I love my life!

I don't know what I'm going to do today. maybe to hang out at the park again. I need to start packing up all my stuff and going thru my room to get all the crap I don't want so it will be easier to pack out to air force basic training. and I also need to start making that post video (a video that explains the city that the embassy is in and helping people prepare for it. It should be interesting.

anyways. if you read this you don't if you do, then that’s cool.

either way. ttfn


Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb