Slow Food


Advertisement
Europe
July 21st 2009
Published: July 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mountain biking injuriesMountain biking injuriesMountain biking injuries

Just a small portion of the damage everal days after the incident. I was quite attractive in a bathing suit.
This farm is so wonderful. But real wonderful; I am sure I won't start hating it in a week. I am in the Peidmonte region, in the north west Itlay, a land of white truffles and other good food, mountains, and the Slow Food movement. It started in this very town, Bra, and there is now a university here dedicated to it. The Nutella factory is also close by. This is a real farm, not any of this agrotourismo bs. They grow lots of vegetables and fruits and make bread and biscuits (cookies) and sell them at markets. There is a couple with 4 boys, but they are all in their 20s except for Lorenzo who is 15. They come and go, but it can be pretty crazy when everyone is here at once. I'll give a more thorough introduction to the family and life here later, when I'll try to also add pictures.

The god news is that I should be in good shape by the time I leave here. The bad news is that I may die from mountain biking and climbing injuries in the process. My first day here I went with Alberto and some friends mountains biking because he said they were doing an easy path. But I am from Florida. And it wasn't easy, it was terrifying, and I wiped out 3 times and had to take a different route back. So I'm bloody and bruised, and my clothes are the same, but it was still fun. They also go climbing 2 days a week so I will get a taste of that in about an hour. I'm told it's not dangerous, but we'll see. I-m sure I'll manage to hurt myself.

I don't have to do any cleaning! Silvia is such a mother and I think she loves having girls around. There is another wwoofer here who has been here for a month, and she now knows Italian quite well because she's really good at languages. Anyway, the work is easy, and it's actually planting and harvesting and building, doing useful things outside. We work in the morning before lunch, and then maybe sometimes from about 6 to 8. And Enzo, the father, is an angel compared to the asshile I used to be working for. Hennie, the other wwoofer, forgot to water a bunch of cabbage, and nearly killed it all, but all he said was that he should have reminded her. The food is so good because it is all from the farm. Oh, life is oh so wonderful here. And I am learning more Italian because Silvia doesn't know English so I need to.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb