Praktikum


Advertisement
Europe
October 27th 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Let me just quickly tell you about my day. This week is Praktikum. Last week was Praktikum as well. This is a two week time period were allt he eligable students in the eleventh grade go to work in place of school. I, being an exchange student, stayed behind with a few other kids who had either already done Praktikum at a different school or couldn't find any place open for them to work. So for this period of time the remaining 17 or so 11th graders have a different class plan that allows them to do some catching up. In English especialls. This first week we had 6 English classes planned. Normally there are only two. Thankfully though Kyle and I were excused from english classes for these two weeks because there were so many and the level would be even lower than normal. And trust me, the level is already excrutiatingly low for a native speaker. So this leaves me with six free hours throughout the week. Plus four more that are given to everyone. This is onle 15 out of 25 classes that I am required to attend. Now let's factor in the amont of classes that are so frequently canceled every week either because the teacher is sick, there is a Klausur ( a class exam which I am unable to participate in just yet ) or just because the school feels like being funny with you one day. In the end I have about 10 classes in the week, give or take a few. Today I had the first period free. Which is nice because it gave me a chance to sleep in. The second period was English, which I was not required to attend. This allowed me to sleep in for even longer. Third period was Biology. This is a class that I actuall can understand and surprisingly enough, enjoy. Today the teacher was sick. This I did not know. I went to school but arrived what i thought was a few minutes late to find the door to the Biology room shut. I knocked, but no one answered. With nothing else to do I went to where my next class, Deutsch, was supposed to be, sat down in the hall and read from Mrs. Dalloway. An hour passes and a group of kids who were definitely not in my class went into the class room that I thought i was to have my Deutch class in. So, I went to the Secretary and really I should have done this right after the confusion with the Bio Room, but I didnt't. She told me that both the teachers for Bio and Deutsch were sick today. so that took care of the third and fourth periods of my day. The fifth was free. Therefore, I had absolutely no school today what-so-ever. German education rocks!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb