Start of the Journey


Advertisement
Europe
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jan. 13, 2008
Hi!
Well, I can't believe this journey has already been two weeks! As some of you know, I left Paris on Dec. 28th and arrived in Paris the next morning without my luggage…AGAIN!! I fly United quite often because I've accumulated some miles, but I gotta say that this flight takes the cake for the "worst flight" experience, ever. At check-in in Chicago, I had to wait for around 40 minutes for the attendant to check me in because apparently he didn't know what he was doing. I had already accumulated enough miles for them to upgrade me to business class for this flight. I asked if he could change me to a window seat, but for some unknown reason, the moment I asked for another seat assignment is when he told me my ticket is not applicable for business class. I WAS LIVID. I had already been assigned a seat online, and because of this genius, I lost my seat. So this debacle went on for 40 minutes when I decided it's not worth it anymore and I just want to get on board. So, I got on the plane and didn't leave the gate for another hour and 15 minutes due to de-icing the plane. What I don't get is why they waited until all passengers are boarding to de-ice the plane when they could have done it an hour before since the plane has been on that gate for a while!! So I was worried because I have a connecting flight to Dulles that leaves an hour after I was scheduled to arrive. Needless to say, our flight was delayed for an hour or so. The moment we landed in Dulles, I RAN like crazy from one end of the terminal to another just so I can still catch my connecting flight to Paris. On that sprint, I'm pretty sure I pissed quite a few people since I knocked a few of them…including an elderly (yikes!). Thankfully, I just made it to the gate, 5 minutes before they closed it! Unfortunately, my bags didn't make it after they said that they would wait for my luggage considering they are aware that my flight is delayed. LIES!! Then during the flight, all I got from the flight attendants are some major attitude. The flight attendants on this flight had a habit of rolling their eyes at me just because I asked for a glass of water. Anyway after I landed in Paris, I heard my name being called in the baggage claim….and right there and then I immediately knew that they don't have my luggage (again!). That was a big time hassle considering I was only spending one day in Paris, and immediately flying the next day to Nice. And since United doesn't fly to Nice, they have to relay my luggage to Air France and deliver it to my apartment in Nice (which I didn't get 3 days later!!!). Bottom line: bring sufficient amount of clothing on your carry on (which I already knew this, just didn't think that United would do it twice in a row). OR just don't fly United at all.

Anyway, I flew to Nice (via Air France this time!!) on Dec. 30th and met my sister and her family there. This was my first time visit to Nice, and it reminded me of San Diego with the hills, the Mediterranean sea, the palm tree, and other similarities (obviously except for the architecture). My sister and her husband rented an apartment next to the Gallerie LaFayette and Place de Messena (just across the Promenade des-Anglais) in downtown Nice for 9 days. I also spent New Year's Eve there, which was really anti-climactic since there were really no big countdown or anything. We were in Promenade des Anglais and there were just a bunch of people shouting and kissing, and that's really when I realized that it was midnight. Regardless, it was an experience to have spent New Year's eve in France. It was a great time overall, except when I became so ill that I was bed-ridden for 5 days. Not only that, I passed it on to my niece, and eventually caught on to my nephew, my brother-in-law, then my sister. We were all viral plagues thanks to me. Even though we were house arrest for a few days, we still ended up doing a lot of mini excursions. We drove a couple times up in the mountains in Isola and went skiing there (my nephew and niece put me to shame, I'm a horrible skier and I made them look like a pro considering they go on to these steep hills while I try to find a flat surface to save my life.). Then we drive 30 minutes east and we were in Monaco, which was also my first time there too. Then the rest of the time were spent apartment hunting, since my sister wants to buy an apartment in the Nice region.

After our nine day stay in Nice, we drove to Rome!! It was great, euro road trip! My brother-in-law did the driving, since he knows the ins and outs of Europe from the back of his head (well, the little navigation didn't hurt…but he wasn't even listening to that). The drive took approximately 10 hours, since we stopped in Pisa for a while and took pictures of the leaning tower. Then from Pisa, we drove for another 2 hours straight to Rome. We rented an apartment there for 2 nights, since my sister and the fam are scheduled to go back to Jakarta two days later on Jan. 11th. I think it's crazy how my brother-in-law was able to blend in driving with the Italians. I mean, I don't mean to generalize, but they are pretty temper mental and crazy drivers. Not sure if I would be able to handle that…but I know I have to force myself to learn considering that once school is finished, I am planning on renting a car and drive it all around France, and maybe some other parts of Europe too!! I guess we'll see.

Well, I've been in Rome now for the past 4 days, and I am flying back to Paris tomorrow. Rome is an incredible city with so much history. I think it's an open air museum because every corner that you see has a story that dates hundreds and thousands of years ago…and it's hard to fathom that you are walking the very same steps of the people that made Rome such a historic site. But I gotta say, I think I've had better Italian food back home in the States (North Beach/Little Italy in San Francisco!!!). The pizza and pasta were anti-climactic. I seriously thought they would be heaven and life changing the moment I put genuine Italian food in my mouth. Maybe I just went to the wrong restaurants, but I went to a few and none of them really made me jump for more.

And one last thing, some freak show happened to me earlier this afternoon…TWICE!! I was walking to an internet café near my hotel when this car pulled up right next to me with a man and a woman asking me for directions. I said I'm not from here but they kept insisting on talking to me. That said, I kept walking but now the guy is really trying to get my attention. He flashed a police badge and I knew something was…so I just ran straight cuz I knew they were going to try to mug me. The car did not have a police sign, so I knew they were up to something. The moment I ran, I heard him stepping on the gas and I seriously thought he was going to chase me. But as soon as I entered the building, he just went away. THEN the very same night, SAME THING HAPPENED when this car with a man and a woman pulled up right next to me in a dark street asking to go closer to their car while asking for directions. Considering what just happened earlier, I RAN like crazy!!! I can't believe it. TWICE in one day!! I guess I better wear bullet proof vest next time. That or wear a sign that says "I'm not a tourist, biatch" or "leave me along or I'll kung-fu your ass".

Well, I'm headed to Spain then Portugal on January 17th for around 8 days. I will keep you updated on my whereabouts!! Gotta get some sleep and rest now since I have to wake up in six hours to catch my early morning flight back to Paris.

CIAO!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb