Yassiou Athens, Hello Rome


Advertisement
Europe
October 23rd 2008
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

group dinnergroup dinnergroup dinner

Here is a group dinner with my fellow Bennie and Johnnie travelers. They are great!!!
The time has come. Saturday means goodbye to Athens, and hello to Rome!

I am going to miss Athens terribly. However, I think we have seen the highlights of Greece and are ready to see what Italy has to offer us! We have started to plan our side trips in Italy. We only have a few free weekends in Italy, so we are trying to strategize and rank. As of now, top contenders include a weekend trip up to Lake Como and Cinque Terre, a wine tasting weekend in Tuscany, and perhaps Sicily as well. We really need to do this planning now, because the internet situation in Rome is a lot sketchier than it is here!

This past week has meant finals, however we were done by Wednesday! One final, art history, gave me a run for my money. It is crazy how detailed and intense art history is (not really my cup of tea). Nevertheless, it was super interesting to learn about.

Wednesday we celebrated one last time at our favorite karaoke bar, Mike's. Tomorrow we are going to one last museum and shopping for those last souvenirs, having one last chicken gyro at the neighborhood
my roommy roommy room

This is my room in Greece, standing on my balcony. While it is very white and sterile and i feel like i live in a prison sometimes, it is really nice having my own room!
Grill and Pita, and going out for one last dinner.

I really am excited for Italy, though! I am moving in with a really fun group of girls on my trip. Our apartment seems decent, however it is 40 minutes away from our school and has limited internet access. That is why it is one of the reasons it is a little hard to leave Athens. We live in a great neighborhood called Pangrati, have a nice school with nice staff that we have gotten to know, all 30 of us live within a 5 minute walking distance of each other, and we finally feel like we have actually gotten a hang of this crazy city (Notice I haven't talked about getting lost in awhile 😊 In Rome most of the apartments have sketchy internet access, and we are really spread out throughout the city. So, we are preparing for the worst, but hoping for the best. I'm sure we will love it as much as Athens, but there's always that fear of the unexpected! The cool part is that our apartment is right by the Vatican! A highlight in Rome will be when my parents come to visit
living roomliving roomliving room

This is our cozy living room. It is interesting trying to have group gatherings over here and packing more than ten people in this tiny space!
me...I am so excited for that! They come November 11th, and that works out well. We have a day trip planned to Pompeii on that first Friday they are here, so they will tag along with us! Then I have the rest of that weekend off to hang out with them.

Anyway, because we were done with finals Wednesday, and don't have classes until the next Monday when we get to Rome, we have 11 days off!!! This was a completely unexpected break that we just found out about (The teachers in Italy aren't contracted the first week we get there...bummer...), so we have a few days here to finish up what we want to do, and then when we get to Rome we have over a week off! We have some things planned by our directors, such as walking tours and dinners etc., and then on Wednesday we are off to Venice for a few days.

How is everyone doing at home? I hope school, work, and everything are going well!!! I know it is midterms for all of you college kids, so good luck with that!
Yassiou (goodbye) for now.






Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

kitchenkitchen
kitchen

This is our tiny, but cute kitchen.
parking in Greece...parking in Greece...
parking in Greece...

Here is an excellent example of the terrible parking jobs Greeks do...notice the car that decided to park right next to that other car, in the middle of the road, blocking that poor car in. Typical.
ParliamentParliament
Parliament

This is parliament in the middle of Syntagma Square. We go to Syntagma for shopping, post office, and it is the nearest metro station to us. There are protests in front of this building weekly, shutting down buses and blocking off traffic.
DikemesDikemes
Dikemes

This our school. The Greek name is on the left, Dikemes. It is called CYA as well.
neighborhood churchneighborhood church
neighborhood church

This is the Greek Orthodox church that I can see out my balcony. It's not even a block down from my building. Thousands of Greeks belong to one church! It is crazy...
Grill and PitaGrill and Pita
Grill and Pita

Arguably the best pita place in Pangrati...
Arianou 13-15Arianou 13-15
Arianou 13-15

This is the building I lived in here in Athens. My balcony to my bedroom is the 2nd level up, furthest to the left.


Tot: 3.336s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.044s; 3; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb