Time with Molly!!! Part I


Advertisement
Europe
February 14th 2008
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

God has smiled upon me.


Let me explain.


I do not start classes until the 18th, so this week has been entirely free for me to use as I see fit. Now, I fully intend to travel and explore, but

I would like to be a bit more familiar with my surroundings before I go traipsing off into the wild blue yonder, since I have the luxury of being able

to do so. I was afraid that this free time would mean lots of opportunity for the "extra-lonely bug" to bite. However, Heaven was happy and

my dear friend Molly was able to come and visit me for a few days. Molly, for those of you who don't know, is my friend from college who has

been living in Austria for the last 10 or so months. I have missed her and it was incredibly exciting to be able to meet up with her, especially

here. Molly and her boyfriend arrived on Monday morning. I was quite proud that I got up and found the bus station with no problems and was

able to collect them easily. She and Christian
ChristianChristianChristian

This is Molly's boyfriend, Christian. He's very nice!
both had travel bags, so we decided to find their lodgings and stow their luggage so that we could

explore the city together. I was afraid that they would be staying somewhere that I would not be able to locate, but they stayed quite close,

actually only one stop on the tram from my dorm. It couldn't have been better! It took us a bit to find the place (it was kind of hidden) but I was

pleased to see that it was quite luxurious, even for Western standards. I was thinking of staying with them instead of in my room! Ha ha ha.

Interestingly enough, they stayed in a Penzion, which looks like a very small, independent hotel. It is located right next to the monastery and

church at which Gregor Mendel made his ground-breaking observations about genetics. (He started with the now infamous pea and worked his

way to other plants and animals like bees). I pass by the place every day and didn't even realize it was there until we went there! Molly was

especially excited because before deciding to specialize in (Modern) Eastern European History, she was a biology
Mendel! Mendel! Mendel!

It's him, all right...
major and is still very interested

in science. It was thrilling to be at such an important historic place for all of us, I am sure.






Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Mendel's Church Mendel's Church
Mendel's Church

This is the church located next to the monastery at which Gregor Mendel made his scientific observations.
Mendel's Church Mendel's Church
Mendel's Church

Aren't the doors beautiful?
Mendel Mania Mendel Mania
Mendel Mania

This is a plaque giving information about Mendel and his work.
Mendel Mania Mendel Mania
Mendel Mania

More information. yay.
Glass House Glass House
Glass House

This plaque gives information about Mendel's Glass House, the green house which housed his peas and other plant life. The house no longer stands, but the stone foundation an interesting floor plan of what it looked like.
Random Cool Door-knocker Random Cool Door-knocker
Random Cool Door-knocker

I just thought this was a really interesting door knocker to one of the buildings inside the monastery. Not really important.


Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb