First week in Ireland


Advertisement
Europe
January 15th 2008
Published: January 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello there from Galway, Ireland! I have been here for barely over a week. I landed in Shannon and was lucky enough to get my bags and everything right before the first bus left for Limerick. I didn't go straight to bed, but instead, took a shower and hopped on a bus and took a tour of the country. It was so amazing. The sun was shinning and then all of a sudden it would just start pouring. The cool thing was that once it stopped raining tons of rainbows would just appear. The bus went out along the coast and then back in to the city. The countryside is so pretty.... green grass everywhere with tons and tons of sheep, horses, and cows. I rode the bus past this small little house with four or five cows just standing outside the window of the house mooing... apparently it was dinner time. I got back to the hotel and absolutely crashed. I eventually woke up at 2 am and emailed my parents to tell them that I had arrived safe and sound. For the next three days, everyone else arrived and we had orientation programs all morning. On the first day, we had the afternoon off, so we walked around the city some and saw it. The second afternoon, we went to Bunratty Castle. It was absolutely amazing. We walked through the castle and then all over the grounds. Apparently they have dinners where they re-enact dinners from medieval times where no silverware and manners are used. On the third afternoon, we had off again. The next morning, January 9th, we moved to Galway. It turns out that our whole building is Butler. There are four apartments with four rooms and three bathrooms each. I really enjoy my roommates. I have my own room and bathroom at the end of the hall. I have the best view because I overlook the Corrib River. We have been settling in... attempting to figure out what we really need and how to cook. My roommate Alex absolutely loves to cook for everyone. Most of my friends live across the river in another so it's a good way to get my exercise, considering I live about a 6 minute walk from campus. We had a long day of orientation here the other day with all of the international students, however it was the biggest waste of time. Classes started on Monday, but we aren't even sure if we are taking the classes because we have a two week period of time to go and try out different classes. By the end of next week, I should know what classes I am taking for sure. People here are so pleasant and nice here. I have met so many people and am having a great time. So far that is all that is going on. I absolutely love here and am having a wonderful time. I can't wait until I get in a school routine here this week.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb