Buon giorno from Napoli and Puglia


Advertisement
Europe
October 28th 2007
Published: October 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hanging out in SorrentoHanging out in SorrentoHanging out in Sorrento

That's the Bay of Naples in the background with Mt. Vesuvius. Good think I have a good ability to balance myself.
Dear Aiden,
I am the best traveler ever. Aunt Mina and Uncle Ron took me to Naples, Sorrento, the Amalfi Coast and the beautiful hill town of Ravello. You should see Uncle Ron drive- lucky I don't get carsick!!!! Driving a car in Italy is a fullblown sport. We ate seafood one night in Sorrento that was so good I couldn't believe it .... and you know I don't like fish. Then we went to Pompei and walked around for almost a whole day in the ruins seeing old houses and the forum and lots of temples. There is still writing on the walls, including old campaign slogans in red paint. Lots of cool mosaics including one that freaked me out because it looked just like me! Then we drove to Puglia on the eastern part of Italy for a biking trip- you should see Uncle Ron go uphill faster than anyone else. We ate pizza and the best pasta ever and saw how to make mozzarella and how to bake focaccio and lots and lots of vineyards and olive tree groves and learned how to shake an olive tree and how to prune it too. Then we went to this
CavingCavingCaving

Here I am with Classic in the grotto of Castellano. Natural limestone cave that's 3 football field lengths long at least.
really cool town made all of very, very old stone houses; it's called Alberobello and the houses are called trullo for one or trulli for more than one. That's where we met Mimo, our guide. He's very cute and talks more with his hands. He told me I was so 'bella'- see the picture. I miss you. See you in the spring. Love, Bailey


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Baking in MonopoliBaking in Monopoli
Baking in Monopoli

So now I can make pizza rustica- top and bottom layer pizza with ham and cheese on the inside. Wonderful. We ate it all.
We're biking todayWe're biking today
We're biking today

And we need lots of snacks. Here's my new friend Audrey, our guide, and her new ladybug (no name yet).
Lunch in the MasseriaLunch in the Masseria
Lunch in the Masseria

Fifteen different dishes including the best pasta- called orchietta which means little ears. My ears aren't that little, but the pasta was delicious.
Mozzarella, mozzarellaMozzarella, mozzarella
Mozzarella, mozzarella

This is Nicola making mozzarella from fresh milk and an enzyme. He uses his paddle to swish around in very hot water and presto, it's cheese! He can shape it into all sorts of shapes- no dogs, thank goodness.
MimoMimo
Mimo

This is me with Classic and Mimo, our local guide. He runs a wine store and gives tours and rents out trulli. Very busy life!
On the way homeOn the way home
On the way home

Got hungry again in Gatwick Airport in London. Luckily the candy comes in big packages.


Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb