We are still alive


Advertisement
Europe
September 2nd 2007
Published: September 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone! I dont know if anyone is still reading this, but I realized that since the crash we haven't written at all. And unfortunately, this computer does not let me upload pictures. But I will give a quick (maybe) update on where we were, are and are going.

So I think the last post was maybe in Ireland? Anyways we went to Ireland and love it there. I definately want to do a 3 week trip throughout the country and rent a car (the trains arent so accesible) and see all the cute Irish towns and countryside. Any takers?

After Ireland we headed back down through Germany and saw Steffi, our exchange student to Ladner from 7 or 8 years ago!!! We stayed in her flat in Frankfurt and hung out with some of her friends and it was such a good time. On our way to Switzerland we stopped in Rothenburg, which is a preserved medieval village in Germany. I really wanted to go to Fussen, and see King Ludwigs castles, which suppossedly inspired the castle for Cinderella, but we ran out of time. Next Eurotip I supposse.

Now to the crazy part of our trip. Switzerland. We met a Swiss girl in Portugal who offered to give us and 2 other guys an indepth tour of her country. Basically, we started in the south and saw a film festival, which is really cool. The film we saw was awful, but the experience was worth it. The next day we did a hike in the Swiss Alps, which was absolutely brutal, but well worth the climb. At the top you can stay in these little cabanas which are scattered throughout the Alps. The idea is that you can hike from ridge to ridge and stay in these little huts. They provide you with food and drinks, and its basically an honour system that you leave the money you owe behind. Also cool, is they provide you with Birkenstocks to walk around the cabin in. The next two days we drove in the mountains and saw Fiesch, Interlaken, and Grindelwald. All that interlaken really has going for it is its crazy extreme activities, like canyoning, bungee jumping, etc. The most crazy I was was I went luging in Grindelwald. Very fun and highly recommended. We then drove up to Zurich were they had the biggest outdoor party IN THE WORLD. It was basically a techno parade (there was a canadian float!!) where different dj's on floats with dancers went through the streets. But its like a 12 hour parade, because each float stops and then you have like an hour long dance party with each float. It was fun, but I was very techno'd out. The funny thing was there were old people there all dressed up and dancing their heart out in front of everyone. At night there are raves everywhere, and we partied late into the morning at the main train station. So that sums up crazy Switzerland. I realize that I am writing far too much and probably boring everyone.

We then headed to France and visited my Aunt Jetty and Uncle Wim again, in their chateau in France. Very relaxing. And I fell in love. With their new puppy 😉 We then headed to Austria and met up with Ashley (who is playing softball there) in St.Polten. We introduced drinking games to her softball team. Enough said. With Ash we headed up to Prague and met two more friends there. Prague is like a fairytale, its so beautiful everywhere you look. I think our funniest event was getting caught in the rain the first night. We were eating dinner on one side of town and our hostel was on the other side. The rain was coming down so hard, that by the time we got home, it looked like we had all gone swimming with our clothes on!

We then headed to Vienna, which is nice, but not as lovely as Prague. Kev and I saw a classical concert and opera at the Opera house, and that was very cool. On a sad note: I forgot some important luggage in Vienna, and so far they havent found it. I left behind some watercolour prints of Prague that we bought and spent like over an hour deciding which ones to buy. And I left a cd on which we had burned all of the photos from Kev's camera. Kev had also spent hours making a DVD of our trip, with music and captions and everything, which I also forgot. Anyways, I am still emailing them hoping it will turn up.

Budapest was next on our list. It is beautiful, and we partied hard every night in this outdoor disco, that had TWO stages with different music. We also tested the grossest drink in the world: Metaxa. From Budapest, we headed to Venice, from Venice to Verona, and from Verona to the Cinque Terre, where we are now. We just finished the Cinque Terre hike, and I am exhausted. Hopefully, I will write more later. I want to talk more about our Italian camping experiences, adn the Cinque Terre. Write us comments and messages and emails and loves!!! Ciao


Advertisement



Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb