Split to Firenze in 24 hours...


Advertisement
Europe
August 11th 2007
Published: August 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was Sara’s birthday, she turned 13. The alarm this morning at 7 was too early and the fact that I had to pack weighed to heavily on my mind to allow me to continue to sleep. My bag came together easily and quickly, so we all parked the car and made our way down the dock. We walked to Split to start Sara’s birthday jaunt but were interrupted by a disturbing phone call. Bruno called to say that the charter company hadn’t paid him even though David and Gianluca had given them the money before we boarded. They paid in cash and the girl didn’t make a receipt and now claimed they hadn’t paid at all! Then the police and a jackass from the charter company showed up, caused more problems. Accusations flying everywhere while Sara and I listened to music to escape the chaos. Gianluca and Piera left to get their boat, only to return to us later to say their reserved spot had been filled. After we parted on more time, we were again in eight. With the addition of David’s friend Stefano and his three blonde beautiful children. I’m sure their next boat trip will be nice but not nearly as relaxed as ours (what with the addition of 3 five years olds).
We all had lunch together and walked around some, and then they left to board their next sailboat. I wandered around the pier looking for a gift for Ilaria. I found a few small stupid items and tried to bargain, but the Croats are not very forgiving in their bartering skills.
I met two affable Australian guys at the pier while I waited to board. Then boarded and found my seat, reserved this time. The ferry ships are so tacky and old. As usual I interrupted a group of Italian boys to make conversation. Luca, 23, Sergio, 24, and Alessandro, 25, all from Ancona. They were sweet and friendly; understanding my broken Italian but not entirely interesting. Around midnight they invited me to take the extra bed in the their cabin, and I did so voluntarily.
It felt good to lay down and sleep on the ferry. To pass the eight hours of transition in a different way than the first sleepless venture. The boys were like brothers and kid with each other incessantly. I almost felt like I was with a group of boys from the kitchen and without the pressure to compete, or the oddness of being the only girl. They taught me some phrases and a few words I’ve all ready forgotten.
When we all woke up we were in Ancona. the thought of making a three train journey to Firenze weighed a bit heavy on my mind but its not an impossible task to accomplish.
In the port I walked to catch the bus back to the station. There were several trains running all day, and I decided to make the journey instead of extending time in Ancona. For the most part I sat in land sick silence on the train as we passed from Ancona to Bologna via Rimini. We passed new looking sea side towns very similar to the west coast of California. The ride from Bologna to Firenze was more scenic; albeit without a seat reservation I was stuck in the full hallway of a second class train. San Miniato was about a forty minute slow train ride from Firenze and there was a teenager who looked and acted just like Sara. We talked about shoes, and boys, and then! like that my three train rides were over and I had arrived.
I waited at the cute tree lined station admiring the countryside while Claudio no doubt sped down country roads twenty minutes late. In the car he explained to me their particular and unfortunate circumstances. While the farm is large, their passions and abilities are strong, the land has been unforgiving and the people disappointing. They want to leave the 20th of August to vacation and search for a new place to go. they are the first family, that I know of, that has not owned the property but instead rented it. It seems strange and a stressful undertaking with little payoff. But the Tuscan countryside and community of Montaione is beautiful to see. The rolling hills of harvested hay and dead grasses do not distract from the romantic and inviting setting. The sun dusts gold everywhere from sun rise to sun set.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb