thoughts that transpired on route


Advertisement
Europe
June 24th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I started to watch the BBC series Planet Earth a couple days ago. Julia received the dvds as a graduation present, much to my delight. They are absolutely breathtaking videographic accounts of the globe- everything from wind to water to animals to weather to insects to plants. It truly leaves you in breathless awe and wonder and makes me believe that as creation bears witness to His glory none are left with excuse.

I also began to read Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard on Saturday. I had not thought about them in connection to each other before, but as soon as I started reading it the relation between the two stood out to me as quite profound. And so I must quote:

"If the landsacpe reveals one certainty, it is that the extravegant gesture is the very stuff of creation. After the one extravagant gesture of creation in the first place, the universe has contunied to deal exclusively in extravagances, flinging intricacues and colossi down aeons of emptiness, heaping profusions on profligacies with ever-fresh vigor."

His love is extravagant and I am ready to be awed anew on this extravagant six week vacation by both His creation and, in the words of Tolkein, man's humble acts of sub-creation, which, by some miracle of grace, capture remarkable reflections of beauty more often than one might think.

-Erica




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



28th June 2007

Amen and Amen!
I love and enjoy your writing; thank you for sharing your thoughts and reminding us of His extravagant love! Blessings.
28th June 2007

Synchronicity
God amazes me both with his extravagances and his attention to details. I had never heard of Annie Dillard until 2 weeks ago when our family GP prescribed reading her, along with regular exercise and prayer, as a good way of life. And now, Erica, fair pilgrim, you are bringing her to my attention in the context of creation yet again! Enjoy the read; enjoy the journey. As you know, I will be at the other end of the earth being humbly ready to be awed by the magnificence of creation in the young lands of the new world while you explore the old. Looking forward to exchanging stories when you return. Hugs to everyone.

Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb