Lost passport and a few stitches....


Advertisement
Europe
April 29th 2007
Published: April 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After spending about 10 minutes trying to figure out how to spell Colleseum (which I am still not sure about), I decided to skip over the little stuff and give you the boiled down version of the last 4 days. As much as I would love to be eloquent like Kinsey, or a natural writer like Courtney, I am not. I'm Becky, I am the clumbsiest person you will ever meet. I not a good speller and I really cant write well.

Rome was amazing. Seeing the ruins and the city were awesome. Getting caught in the rain at the Trevi Fountain was the highlight.

After visiting an internet cafe in Florence, we got to our hostel to realize that I lost my passport somewhere in the city. Kinsey and I took the scariest cab ride of my life back to the train station to look for it but we were not sucessful. I spent the entire next day walking around the city. While at the police station, I sat in the waiting room where I was directed to go, but knowing no Italian, I had no idea how to tell them what I needed. A super nice Italian helped me and even offered me her phone number if I needed more help. I found my way to the embassy where the passport office was closed until Monday. I was begging the Italian security guard to help me when the man in charge of passports walked through the door on his way in from lunch. I turned on the water works and 5 minutes later, I was filling out passport paperwork. After walking to a photo shop to get a new picture for my passport, I walked back to the embassy where they put it together for me and sent me on my way.

I missed seeing a few great sights in Florence but I got to experience the real Italian people. So willing to help, in their broken English. Making sure I had everything I needed.

After leaving Florence, one of the most beautiful cities that I have ever seen, we got on a train to the Cinque Terre. This is definetly the most gorgeous place in the world. We are staying in the city of Riomaggiore, in a little house/apartment with a breathtaking view of the sea. We took no time at all to change into our swim suits and head down to the beach where we layed out on giant rocks for a few hours and took in the sun.

On our way home from the beach we stopped at a grocery store. After bringing our purchases to the counter, in some strange sequence of events, a glass bottle fell off the counter and juice sprayed everywhere. Slighty shocked, we all looked up to see Kinsey's face covered in blood. A few hours later we sat in the emergency room for several hours. The nurses at the hospital were less than gentle with poor Kinsey's eyebrow. I really think she is the bravest person that I know. She got two stiches as her badge of honor as well as a permanent souvenier.

We took it easy on day two, taking a boat to Vernazza and walking around La Spezia and grocery shopping which was a feat in itself.

We were sad to say good-bye to Cinque Terre but we know there will be great things to come.

Love, Becky

Advertisement



2nd May 2007

Cinque Terra
Hi Becky, You are now in Hank's and my favorite place in the whole wide world. Awesome - and we applaud your ability to find this incredible place. Sorry about the stitches and passport episodes - they will soon fade in your memory and become just good stories to tell your grandchildren someday. Take care and Lots of hugs, Stephanie
5th May 2007

Spelling is overrated
speling iz 4 booring people. jest b yurself and heve a gud time. i luv hereing abowt yur trip to itly and paree. due u stay in eech place for 45 minutes or what? ... Just playing around! I love reading your story. I was really moved by your Switzerland mountain high! I love you and you are perfect! Please keep writing. The folks back home like to share a little bit of your experience before you forget all the interesting details. What an amazing trip! Love, Your Biggest Sister (actually, shortest and oldest, but that's so unflattering)

Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb