In the Lake District


Advertisement
Europe
August 31st 2018
Published: August 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Milan after an uneventful day of travelling with about four hours of sleep on the plane. Immigration went speedily , but then my bag was nearly the last coming off the plane. I always wonder if that's the bad part of arriving early for a flight, and if those who are running for the gate don't get their bags first--sort of "last in, first out." When i exited the customs area, there was no one to meet me. More annoyed than panicked, I looked for phone numbers, but hesitated to call the US at 3 am. It wasn't an "Emergency." So I asked someone waiting to pick up someone else and they sent me to Door 6. I slogged down there with all my luggage to find it was the door for taxis. So I slogged back to where I started and after standing for another few minutes a woman with a Smithsonian sign appeared and all was right with the world. Apparently the other two tour members on my flight came out quite early (I should ask them what time they got to the airport and test out my bag theory) and the guide dispatched them off to the hotel. I must have emerged about the time he went outside with them...

I travelled to Lake Maggiore with my other fellow single traveller, Karen. The scenery we saw as soon as we were out of Milan suburbs was lovely. We crossed the Ticino river which flows out of Lake Maggiore into Italy the Lake is on the border between Switzerland and Italy. It is 40 miles long and 7 miles wide at its widest point. There are several towns along its borders and we are staying in Stresa. We passed one beautiful villa after another, many old and crumbling. Real FIXER-UPPERS if you are looking for a villa in Italy. Each one has a view of the Lake with the mountains beyond.

Our hotel is right on the Lake with an infinity pool right next to the Lake. It is really lovely. We met the group before dinner and it seems very compatible and the Smithsonian expert, Allen Langsdale, is enthusiastic and energetic. Igor is our trip director and he seems knowledgeable, funny, and enthusiastic, as well.

The food was great at our welcome dinner and the wine delicious. Got a reasonable night's sleep although huge thunderstorms rolled in. Expecting a rainy day today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0165s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb