10 days before departure - the freighter cruise has been cancelled


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
September 18th 2012
Published: September 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

As I was scheduled to board the freighter in Bristol next week, I gave the shipping agent a call to make a few enquiries about the boarding procedure.

When I told him the name of the ship I was joining he advised me that it is not expected into port before 11th October.........

I then phoned The Cruise People and yelled at them somewhat - they have no idea what is going on and she actually said to me "Grimaldi is big mess!" - well thanks for telling me now! She stated that they do not answer the phone so she sent an urgent email. Later in the day she confirmed that the ship I was supposed to be boarding is in dry dock and all other vessels are fully booked.

They are now giving me my money back and I have to put together a whole new itinerary departing next week!

So....Plan B begins with a very cheap flight to Zakynthos and I will wing it from there. I have friends on the island so it will be good to catch up with them for a few days and I will later wend my way towards Athens in time for my flight to Istanbul on the 18th October.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb