"So we stayed in the bars along Charing Cross Road"


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
February 21st 2006
Published: February 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

No Feet on Seat!No Feet on Seat!No Feet on Seat!

The first sign collected in Dublin. Those are Hannah's shoes. We are rebels.
"So we stayed in the bars along Charing Cross Road"

Actually, this is a lie. After returning home from the UK and Ireland, I listened to "Home For a Rest" by Spirit of the West and realized that I recognized the places they spoke of... Euston Station, Charing Cross Road... A tidbit of my thought process.

So I'm back in one piece! Pretty exhausted from traveling, but glad to have my own room again - you know me and having my own space! I don't have much time to sit down and recount my travels at this moment, but I wanted to update and let those who I haven't spoken to that I'm okay and safe and happy 😊

By request of Kristy, and also Teresa, I actually was able to collect a wide range of pictures of interesting signs from my travels. By far, Ireland has the funniest ones. So without further adieu, here is a sample of the signs of the islands above me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

I Was BageledI Was Bageled
I Was Bageled

This was on the door leading from the bagel place we visited numerous times in Dublin.
Eye Right!Eye Right!
Eye Right!

At every crosswalk in Dublin and London, on the ground was written "Look Left" or "Look Right" but I suppose someone wanted to mix it up, and this was the consequence.
Telephone Booth HumourTelephone Booth Humour
Telephone Booth Humour

This is actually an ad for a radio station, but let's just pretend that it's an authentic Dublin sign!
Bathroom JokesBathroom Jokes
Bathroom Jokes

I found this on a bathroom door at a flea market in Dublin. I think it's genious. The bathroom was quite clean actually.
Mind Your HeadMind Your Head
Mind Your Head

An example of what we saw at every single doorway in Scotland and England. We came to the conclusion that someone, somewhere bumped their head and sued.
Mind Your Head AgainMind Your Head Again
Mind Your Head Again

Another one from Scotland. It's not even like their doors are small! I didn't get any pictures, but on the London Underground, "Mind the Gap" was written and said (in a British accent) at every exit point. We got the point after the first time.
It's A Refuge Area!It's A Refuge Area!
It's A Refuge Area!

I am still clueless as to what a refuge area is. I was thinking it might be a fire exit, but why are elderly and handicapped people only allowed to enter?


24th February 2006

I believe refuge area might be a resting area?
26th February 2006

I'm so jealous
Hi Kara, I've really been enjoying your blog....although I must admit it's making me a bit jealous. It reminds me of my year in Europe. Always a new adventure, whether it's visiting a medieval castle or learning how to buy food from the grocery store (on more than one occasion, I opened up a can of food and found that it wasn't what I thought I had bought). Can't wait to read about your next adventure! Meghan

Tot: 0.576s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb